Day 1 - Long-haul flight followed by a chilled evening in Hoboken (Hobo)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Hoboken
June 29th 2013
Published: July 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

NYCMAY


World Trade CentreWorld Trade CentreWorld Trade Centre

The new world trade centre
Today was going to be my first time flying without having someone I know with me and, being that I'm a nervous flyer, I choose a 7hr 30min flight, great! Anyway it all worked out ok in the end as this lovely Scottish lady was sitting next to me on the flight and she too didnt like flyng and so it helped with take off as I had someone to talk to and it distracted me. I was also spolit for film choice and watched Taken 2, Oz: The Great and Powerful and the Hobbit.

I needed to get a taxi to my friends apartment after arriving safely at Newark Liberty International Aiport, New Jersey. I was greeted by a guy that I thought was a taxi driver and he took me to a pick up point and told me to wait while he got his car, anyway a couple of minutes went by and there was no sign of him so I decided to go back to the airport front entrance and get a yellow cab instead. It seemed a bit dodgy, so thought to myself; best to be safe than sorry!

I got safely to my friends
The Empire State BuildingThe Empire State BuildingThe Empire State Building

The Empire State Building
apartment in Newport, New Jersey and was great to see Fi (Fiona) again, as we hadnt seen each other in 4 years. It's so crazy to think that 8 years ago we were working together and here we are still in touch and both in the NYC area.

The weather was very humid and after my long journey I didn't fancy adventuring into NYC, so Fi suggested going to Hoboken (known as Hobo to locals) and so we went for a walk to Hobo from Newport and saw some amazing views of NYC in the daylight and evening. We also went to a pub that had an open roof and had a couple of Buds in the Sun, followed by going to a bar & grill called Black Bear, where I had burger and chips. It was a great chilled evening and I managed to stay awake until 10.30pm which is 3.30am UK time, so that I acclimatised to the US time zone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Freedom TowerFreedom Tower
Freedom Tower

Freedom Tower
Me with Freedom TowerMe with Freedom Tower
Me with Freedom Tower

Me with Freedom Tower
A double decker trainA double decker train
A double decker train

A double decker train at Hobo station


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 16; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb