Day 51 - New Jersey


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Hazlet
August 26th 2010
Published: August 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

PNC Bank Arts CenterPNC Bank Arts CenterPNC Bank Arts Center

The PNC Bank Arts Center in Holdmel, New Jersey. There are 7,000 seats and the grass area can hold about 10,500 people.
After having a heavy night in one of the many dive bars found within Hell’s Kitchen, it was a case of struggling to get our stuff organised for our train ride down to New Jersey. I have noticed that we have a habit of drinking too much the night before our departure date.

There was some drama on the train down to New Jersey. The Amtrak agent behind the counter gave Paul the wrong ticket (the destination was the same but the time was incorrect). Being fans of the Indiana Jones trilogy (we both refuse to acknowledge the existence of the last “movie”) we were expecting Paul to be thrown off the train in a manner similar to the scene from “Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade”. Thankfully we were at our destination by the time the conductor actually checked his ticket.

Since Paul wasn’t too confident about driving on the other side of the road, I was assigned the task of driving out to our hotel in Hazlet. We were only staying in New Jersey for one night so we drove straight to the hotel before collecting the tickets for the show a couple hours later. After a quick bite to eat and a power nap, we headed off to the venue for the KISS gig.

Even though I’m not the biggest KISS fan, the show was pretty good. My seats were quite close to the stage and I had a set of speakers next to me that were so loud I could feel my lungs vibrating against my ribs. Lady Gaga was also at the show but she was she somewhere up the back of the venue surrounded by security. One of the guitarists threw out his guitar pick to a little girl in front of me. She dropped it and I gave it back to her instead of keeping it for myself *sigh* a rookie mistake.

Our next stop is Philadelphia - The City of Brotherly Love.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Tommy Thayer from KISSTommy Thayer from KISS
Tommy Thayer from KISS

The kid in front scored a guitar pick. His sister dropped hers and I gave it back to her instead of keeping it for myself - *sigh* a rookie mistake.


Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb