I'm moving to the Bahamas!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Hampshire
January 5th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Home

Flying from Dominica to Home

New pics: http://brookeroebuck.shutterfly.com/

Hey, Everyone!

I hope this update finds you well. I hope everyone had a happy holiday and are enjoying the New Year!

Things are well with me. I've been home since the 20th of December and it's been wonderful. I've spent my time recuperating from this crazy last semester and hanging out with my family. I've also been preparing for another big move - I'm moving to Freeport, Grand Bahama in just a few days now! My school has decided to open a new campus there and my class will be the first to enjoy getting all the kinks out! I'm looking forward to the move, although I'll miss home, as well as Dominica. Yes, I said it, I will miss Dominica. Not only will I miss my friends, but I'll also miss the island itself. I thought those words would never come out of my mouth, but there's something to be said for the simple, island life. Never did I have an urge to shop because it just didn't exist, never did I walk by someone without greeting them, and never did I ride by Fusion bar on my bike without the greeting "Hi, Brooke!" by some of the local girls. I could go to the beach "whenever I wanted" (even though I didn't have the time), I could run around the water because I didn't have to be afraid of getting eaten by a shark, and I could experience life on a nature island where things are so, so different from home. I remember thinking before I left that I didn't think my trip to Dominica would change me, but it undoubtedly has. Now when I start a conversation, it's always with "Hi, How are you today?," I've learned that I am able to do some things I thought I could never do (like dive), which is something that I've come to really love, and I've realized my love for traveling and experiencing new places and people. I made friends who are more like my family, I learned what it's like to live so far from home and in many ways, to only have myself to depend on, all while completing my first year of medical school.

Having said that, I'm looking forward to new friends and new experiences in the Bahamas. There are about 100 kids from my class moving with me, although I will no longer be near some of my closest friends, which will be difficult. I'll also be living without roommates, which will be an interesting experience, but one that I'm sure will continue to mature me. All in all, I'm excited to get back to a place with grocery stores, lines on the roads, and maybe even a Burger King (I know, I'm bad).

I also would like to add that I am a first time car owner - yep, that's right! I now own my own car! How scary is that?! I bought the Jeep from my parents on December 31st, but wait! There's a twist to the story. Four days after my purchase, the Jeep kinda got sick. My dad and I were working on it to get it ready to move to the island with me, and 10 hours into our tune up, Jeepy had a massive attack. She has suffered a transmission failure and will be needing a transplant. Luckily, we won't need to be placing her in isolation or putting her on immuno-suppressing medications, but unfortunately, she will need major surgery. We are finding a good match for her and a competent surgeon, but Jeepy doesn't have any health care insurance, so it's going to be $$$$. But that's what you do for the trucks you love. If you would like to donate to Jeepy's cause, feel free to let me know. I'll take cash, personal checks, or credit cards. (That's just a joke)

ANYWAYS... I think my insanity is shining through, which means I should end here. Once again, if anyone would like to visit me in the Bahamas, feel free to come on down! I'm much, much closer than I was before, so it will be an easier, and less expensive vacation. I also hope to have a large, moderately comfy couch, which will have your name on it!! :P

I arrive this Sunday, the 11th, so look out for another update with pictures and fun stories of new adventures!!

Love,
Brooke

Advertisement



8th January 2009

omg
i can't wait for pictures!!! :D

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb