Last days in BA and returning home


Advertisement
Published: August 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dia Del amigoDia Del amigoDia Del amigo

last night out in BA
I returned from Iguazu Falls into Buenos Aires and stayed at a friend's apartment for two nights...my last two in South America. The first day back was what the South Americans call "Friends Day". Apparently it's like Valentines day, except just for friends....which is kind of a cool idea. I think it might just be an excuse to have a party, but it's a registered holiday so I couldn't argue with that. I ended up going out with about 12 other Argentine friends and we went to a bar where they had rented out the top floor. We ate, drank and laughed and had a really fun time. It was a great way to spend my last night out in Buenos Aires. It also made me realize how much I would miss a lot of the culture and customs in South America, and the great people and friendships I had made.

I made it to the airport on time and went through a really strict search of my bags (apparently they do this only for flights to the US). They even made me pull out my old military ID to justify my passport stamps from Kuwait, Bahrain and Qatar. 10
lunch with mom in Portsmouthlunch with mom in Portsmouthlunch with mom in Portsmouth

enjoying some NE clam chowder overlooking the harbor
hours later I arrived into the Atlanta airport. It was a bit of a shock being able to speak English everywhere I went and to not be the foreigner anymore. It also made me feel bad for the Argentine's trying to figure things out and understand the English these immigration ladies were barking out. It's too bad they don't have "greeters" or something for international flights welcoming foreigners into the US. Instead they have probably the most underpaid employees of the immigration department yelling at people to get in line to check passports...most not even knowing any other languages.

The first thing I noticed once I got through customs was the diversity of people in all shapes and sizes walking through the airport, especially the many overweight people. The US really does have a mix of people and all walks of life. Then I noticed every other person with a Starbucks coffee cup in their hand and I saw a vending machine that sold $300 iPod's and other high value items...definitely back in the United States. I also used the internet for 30 min and had to pay $10, making me remember just how expensive everything is here (in
New HampshireNew HampshireNew Hampshire

sunset in the back yard
comparison).

So I continued on to Boston and arrived in the early afternoon after some delays. My mother was there to pick me up and we began the 2 hour drive north to NH. It was a beautiful day to return home, sunny, 80 degrees, no humidity...a perfect New England summer day. We stopped in Portsmouth and had lunch outside at the Stock Pot overlooking the harbor (see picture) and I enjoyed some great New England clam chowder. We continued north, stopping for ice cream at a little place overlooking the White Mountains and were finally home as the sun was setting.

I've spent the past two weeks at home in NH, at two wonderful weddings (Jackson and York, ME), spent some time in Boston, the Cape and the Portsmouth area. It's been so great to see friends and family and be back in a familiar place (although being away from New England so long makes me feel like a stranger at times).

I've now been home for almost two weeks and have readjusted quite quickly and my travels are already beginning to feel like another time, almost nonexistent. It's amazing how quickly you can slip back into a familiar culture and way of life. Even though I may not feel any different I think I have definitely changed as a person somewhere inside. So many great adventures and eye/mind opening experiences throughout my time in Asia and South America. I hope everyone has enjoyed following my travels and that maybe you too have leanred a little more about another country and culture. Well, that's it for me on this trip...until the next time. Hope to see you all soon!!! Wishing everyone the best, Scott


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb