A successful vacation and a well deserved rest day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Hampshire » Lincoln
January 16th 2015
Published: January 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I am happy to report that we have had a successful vacation and still have a day left to ski. We met the conditions for a successful vacation yesterday when Dave completely tired me out.
There we were, skiing at The Great Glen Nordic Center - home to 45 km of groomed trails. We had skied most of the trails - though I don't think close to 45 kms - and there were two trails left. Thumper and Peacemaker. I was defeated by Thumper. I could have done it I am sure, but was really too tired to think it was a good idea. As it was, it took most of what I had left to ski back to the Nordic Center. Thank goodness it was Thumper that did me in and not Fuzzbottom or Hairball. We met an old Army buddy of Dave's for diner and reminisced about when they were both working Army Reserve readiness at the USARC in the mid 90s. Caught up on who went where and what people were doing and had a super time. It was sure good to see old friends. Today we had planned to fat tire bike at Waterville but had to take a pass. When we got to the center, although they had fat tire biking on their website, they had not really gotten around to implementing the program. The receptionist did mention that they might should update their website. Dave and I thought that would be a great idea. So today turned into a much needed rest day (for me). Tomorrow we plan to ski one last time at Bretton Woods before we head back to Manchester and to home. New Hampshire has been great in the winter ..... We may have to come back in the summer or fall. No pictures today. It was too cold to unglove yesterday and today has all been rest.Will be nice to get home Saturday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb