Day 21 - Las Vegas, Nevada


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
October 2nd 2011
Published: October 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I think I managed a better sleep than I did on any other bus trip, but that’s probably because I was extra tired. The bus was two hours behind schedule, and I ended up getting to Las Vegas at 8:40am. There was a cab due for me that was arranged by one of my contacts, but since the bus was extremely late, I assumed he wouldn’t be there.

I walked to my hostel from the bus station, breaking my water bottle along the way after dropping it. That was uncool. A bottle that was almost full. Still, I managed to save at least half of the water, since the crack was at around the halfway point. I had a few sips as I walked along Las Vegas Boulevard to my hostel.

I couldn’t check in until 3pm, and I needed some rack, so I slept on the couch in the common room for a few hours, watching a little bit of what was on TV as well. Also, the Wi-Fi connection here was of absolute disgrace. It would cut out every minute, for a few minutes at a time, and it really bothered me that I couldn’t ever have a decent internet connection throughout my trip to the United States thus far.

At around 3pm, I checked in, and met one of my roommates, who was a Christian Missionary. Very interesting, I thought. We became acquainted and both headed off for lunch, and we had an interesting chat about God and religion. Even learned some things from him. Basically, what he does is travel around, talking to people about God and how they can find happiness, offering to bless anyone who’s in need of hope. I thought, really nice of him. In a way, he’s not too different from myself – I like to encourage people to achieve their life’s biggest ambitions, and he likes to help people attune to religion and find love within themselves. Which I don’t disagree with the idea of, although I do have slightly different beliefs when it comes to religion. And he most certainly wasn’t an abusive missionary trying to convert people. He simply likes to help people with spiritual growth. Not that I believe you need religion to be a spiritual person, though.

As interesting as that was, we had great pizza to make it even better. It was delicious. We then headed back to the hostel where it was time to relax. I went to sleep pretty early tonight, before 8pm.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb