This Town Really Does Revolve Around Sex


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
May 29th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

But I guess it's better than violence. And speaking of that, I hear the town was a lot safer (though it's still fairly safe, especially compared to Flint!) when the Mob was running things. All I can do is shrug.

Anyway, I went back to The Strip for the first time today. It was so funny to see how many people dress up to walk the strip. Prom dresses are not my idea of essential, even if you are going to see Celine Dion or something.

There were little pamphlets all over the ground and in the bushes advertising...adult entertainments. I thought it was hilarious that on all of them you can see nothing below the waist, and the nipples are covered with little stars. It never fails! Always a star. The slogans around here are funny, too. Apparently a new attraction is opening soon-ish on the strip, and the catch phrase (sentence?) on the banner was 'Music, Mojo, Midgets, Models, Martinis, and Mayhem". Only in Vegas.

The Mirage has finally replaced Sigfried and Roy with another act--they waited a year to change the sign though. Perhaps they were hoping Roy would come back. They've replaced it with a Beatles version of the Cirque du Soleil. I don't know how I feel about that. I liked that Cirque du Soleil was usually a little more abstract than naming themselves after a band. What do I know? I'd have to see it to make any real judgments, and quite honestly, IF I have enough money to see anything before I leave, it'll be the Blue Man Group.

I went to Margaritaville today. I'm sure most of you get that reference. It was a pretty cool place. The seating area used the shape of open fishing boats as tables. On one level the table was at the bow of the ship, and the lower level was the stern. That probably doesn't paint a good picture, but I can't think of how to accurately describe it. There was also a volcano about the bar that scantily clad woman would slide out of and do a little dance every once in a while. Interesting.

Ja, I'm out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 4; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb