Ramblings before I leave the country


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
May 17th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Red RockRed RockRed Rock

I love the canyon. It's about ten minutes away.
Back to Vegas. Luckily I have nothing of great magnitude to report, but I will reaffirm that it is quite warm in Las Vegas in the summer. As of 8 a.m. this morning, it must have been 80 or 90 degrees outside. After overcast, drizzly, and chilly Ohio, it was a shock.
I’ve been reading Perdido Street Station—a graduation gift from a friend. I must admit I’m a lot more into it this time (it interested me before, but that interest is amplified now, for some unknown reason). There are so many themes woven throughout, and as evidenced by its syntax and diction it was written for an intelligent reader. I am particularly interested in the themes related to art, and the creation thereof. I’ll probably read the book several times, write in it *gasp*, and other assorted things to make it age prematurely. Also, interestingly, the author didn’t publish until after he taught English abroad. Coincidence? Perhaps, but uplifting nevertheless.
It is decidedly nice being an alumna. First of all, though I was crying when I left Denison (and rather unsuccessfully trying to hide it from my father), I realized that I have so many happy memories of Denison that
I forget the street's name...I forget the street's name...I forget the street's name...

Old Las Vegas (i.e. Not the Strip). I really should go people watch someday. Maybe after the heat wave ends. Hah! Or tomorrow.
I can’t remember any bad ones. It would be impossible to illustrate them for you here, but trust that they are firmly entrenched in my memory. And that's a great thing. How could I be unhappy about graduation?


Advertisement



12th July 2006

Street?
Street name is...drumroll please...Fremont St.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb