gittin' outa Vegas to San Diego


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
May 21st 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bellagio Hotel "gardens"Bellagio Hotel "gardens"Bellagio Hotel "gardens"

pretty interesting
San Diego/Vegas get out 21 May
(Sun. 23 May)
Its actually after midnight here (what is new with me starting blog at that hour? - what keeps me tired and wretched folks!) Anyway there is no point in trying to catch up with things I might have "missed" etc - "what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas" as they say (but will for skae of 'continuity'). My flight x Vegas was 10.15 am (OK I will backtrack with hilites) and the shuttle said 7.30am pickup - no way 8am will do - we cannot guarantee you will get your flight sir (at about 6 mins from the airport - and no doubt last virtual pickup - think I'll take my chances thanks). So I was there well ahead of time and even had time to have a breakfast for really the irst time in US - (I may have likely aready told you that I have otherwise defaulted to the only one full meal-a-day diet - dinner - cos they are so big that would last enuf calories for a normal person for almost 24hrs. There may be little snacks along the way but that's generally it. Anyway breakfast was a
Bellagio tablesBellagio tablesBellagio tables

a bit classier than they usually are
florentine omelete which was OK - but little potato wedges on the side? - at that hour - man o man, you get what I mean.

Anyway the flight down was Delta - which did not serve anything refreshment wise (unlike American up which at least gave us a quick juice). I cannot imagine why people would pay "business class" on this particular flight - seating was 2x2 all the way down the aircraft and their seats did not really seem any bigger - I think they got a Coke and the chance to jump out first - some value. My baggage arrived on the "wrong" carousel but I found it - and then the world's fastest Flyaway bus down town to Union Station - 25 mins must be some of record - no traffic holdups on the freeway at all. Then about 50 mins wait for the 2pm Amtrak train for 3 hrs down the coast to San Diego - which cost $30, not bad - I think that is an offpeak fare as at more peak timees might be a surcharge. Pacific/business class - with wifi etc - is $44 cos that is what she I was
Paris-Eiffel towerParis-Eiffel towerParis-Eiffel tower

but not in France....
goign to be sold until I said - "coach" thanks. The train down the coast relatively uneventful - some short stretches of beach & ocean close to the track at 2 or 3 points as we got closer to San Diego. You have prob already seen the pic of the typical Pac/Mex tiles of the Santa Fe station which is at the bottom of Broadway. It was just along that about 8 locks to the Ramada Gaslight - as I had only booked not paid anything should have inquired at the W500 on Broadway v. close to station - the old YMCA now converted to rooms with communal bathrooms (some dubious comments on cleanliness about it online - but I cold not do so) - but asked later - at only $49 + tax it would have been way cheaper than $402 for 3 nights at the Gaslight - the old St James hotel with the lighted sign still on the roof top patio - went up there for a view. Old style roms which were (relatively) small - compared only to the acres of the double twin at the Luxor in Vegas. But nice enough. The original lifts more
Paris - insideParis - insideParis - inside

the trompe l'oeil effect of the tower disappearing into the sky is quite neat
or less still here - people came to marvel at the fastest elevator on the West Coast/entire world in 1905 or whenever - now the manual sliding grill doors just about cut you in half with their spring back action. Seemed to have a mind of their own with floor selection and go to Lobby despite what you pressed.

A view from the roof on floor 10+ - you can see a bit of the Petco baseball stadium at bottom of 6th Ave - and the arc of the very high flyover over the harbour. Some of hose igh clverleafs in LA woudl fak me out in the eevent of an earthquake. I saw in the papers, in the weather section, some shock scales for some small quakes in S. Calif. of 4.8 and 4.9 - must be routine here. Then out for a wander. 5th Ave and the Gaslight quarter is where all the restaurants and pubs and clubs are - as my room was at back of hotel facing 5th you could hear the carousing going late on Fri. and Sat. but not bothersome. The Rough Guide recommd a Persian restaurant which was close - but i decided to go with the Bella Luna Italian. Usual thing is avoid restaurants with no patrons right? well this was motherless with only one couple inside at 8pm on a Friday not a good sign. I was later told it was still the same owner so I think it was really just a case of a helluva lotof competition - there must be 6 other Italian restaurants within 200m. he food was OK despite lack of customers - I sat outside near the street trying to attract other customers - who probably thought loser guy eating on his own - avoid that place! It did not work until the end when a table of 4 came in. There was nothing wrong with the food - I almost cannot remember already but it was large veal ravioli with supposedly some sorta marina sauce, which sounded a bit wierd. It was somewhat warm/peppery sorta heat, whcic is a bit unusual. I had a beetroot/goats cheese salad for a (real) entree which was mostly lettuce but OK. Despite (or because of lack of customers) the staff did not seem to be very interested in selling anything else - I practically had to badger them for dessert - a trio (?) of creme brulees - one normal, one blueberryish, the other chocolate mousse like. Unusually I did not feel too packed after first 2 having chosen relatively light courses so wondered what they would do with 3 creme brulees - not much smaller than Aussie size single serves natch but I can always manage dessert (usually). I think I will split this into another chapter - see you later after the break.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Petco baseball stadium - San DiegoPetco baseball stadium - San Diego
Petco baseball stadium - San Diego

the blue line is the flyover over the harbour! - fr. Gaslamp htl roof
US Grant hotel on BroadwayUS Grant hotel on Broadway
US Grant hotel on Broadway

the Hotel in San Diego
Cucina Urbana restaurantCucina Urbana restaurant
Cucina Urbana restaurant

recommd funky Italian in San Diego
caged Chevy- San Diegocaged Chevy- San Diego
caged Chevy- San Diego

from the Wild Cars series
Whiskey Girl - San DiegoWhiskey Girl - San Diego
Whiskey Girl - San Diego

typical bar on 5th Ave
'Vette at the lights'Vette at the lights
'Vette at the lights

on 5th Ave San Diego
read my mindread my mind
read my mind

in San Diego
Hustler on 5th AveHustler on 5th Ave
Hustler on 5th Ave

wonder what they do there?!


25th May 2010

USA Food, and more.
Hi Mike, Know what you mean about the size servings! They are usually huge. Amazed you can write so much detail, when I was in San Deigo (1978) the killer whales where the big go at the zoo! Huddo.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb