Vegas Family Vacation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
February 21st 2010
Published: February 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post


LAS VEGAS FAMILY VACATION BLOG

PREFACE

Okay, so I’m not a writer, never done a blog, and have never been accused of being a literary genius (or a genius of any other kind for that matter!), but I thought this might be an interesting story to tell.

First off some background, my wife, Crystal, and I are Vegas junkies, Vegas-aholics, suffer from Vegas-itis, whatever the term is, the definition is simple, WE LOVE VEGAS! No matter what you feel like doing, when you feel like doing or what your interests are, that city has something for you. I’ve never had somebody come up to me and say, “Excuse me sir, you can’t do that here…” my kinda town!

I first started going a few years back with my buddy Paul, he showed me the ropes, I owe him big time! Then finally one day my wife and I figured we’d go together (she’d gone a few times with her sister)…and guess what? We love Vegas together! Ahhh, the food, the drinks, the fun, the people, the entertainment, it’s freak’n awesome! Okay, I think you’re getting picture on how we feel about the city.

So here starts this story. A while back my Aunt and Uncle told us they wanted to go to the NASCAR race in Vegas in February 2010 and asked if we wanted to go too. It took us about 1.5 seconds to say yes. We’ve traveled with my Aunt Judy and Uncle Dwayne (aka Uke) a few times to Hawaii and it’s always been fun. Uke and I are more like friends than Uncle and nephew, we snowmobile together, motorcycle together, drink whiskey together so traveling together is second nature for us guys, you never know what you’re going to get when the wives come along. It turns out there is no drama involved, perfect!

So my brother Ryan (aka Bubba) gets wind that we’re going, decides he shouldn’t miss the race, I’ve traveled with him quite a bit too, snowmobile, motorcycle trips, etc.. My dad (Wayne) is another NASCAR fan and thought that going to the race would be a good time and my mom (Elaine) would take any opportunity to go on a vacation and if dad says yes, they’re in! My father doesn’t drink anymore (which we are all thankful for!) and my mom is your stereotypical old Ukrainian lady, I’m having a hard time picturing them in Sin City. Time will tell, and I’ll be sure to take notes on their adventures.

In the mean time, Crystal (my wife) asks her Aunt (Debbie) and Uncle (Chris) from Prince Albert, Saskatchewan if they wanted to go. It turns out they’ve never really gone anywhere, and they decided that it was time. I’ve never really hung out with them, so they could be the wildcards of the group, at least I’m hoping so!

Aunt Judy also convinced her Sister (Sherrie) to meet us there with her husband John and daughter (Hailey) who are coming from Albuquerque, New Mexico. So that makes 12 confirmed travelers (some of which don’t get out very often if you know what I mean).

Aunt Judy suggested Caesars Palace to stay at, we’ve stayed at approx. 8 other hotels in Vegas and Caesars was on our list to try so that’s going to be home for a week! My brother’s wife didn’t want to come so to save money he decides to inform my parents that he’s sharing a room with them…this should be interesting, I asked him if he thinks it will be a little awkward when he take a hooker up to the room. I don’t think he appreciated the comment, oh well, he’ll get over it. I’ll keep you posted.

I’m looking forward to it. My Uncle and I rode into Vegas on motorcycles a couple years back (this is another story, but it was awesome) we stayed for two nights just passing through. WOOHOOO! That man can party for an old farmer from Wakaw, Saskatchewan, let me tell ya! Then in August of this year, I took brother Bubba to Vegas, he’s a fairly quiet guy when he goes out so I’m not entirely sure if he had as good a time as me but I think so…like really, how can you not have an extraordinary time in Sin City?

So we leave on Tuesday, February 23rd. Crystal and I have a night alone, my parents and brother arrive Wednesday afternoon, Aunt and Uncle on Thursday, and then Crystal’s Aunt and Uncle are arriving Friday.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb