Just Married


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

No, we didn't get married in Vegas! After we were married in Memphis, TN, Varryron had to go back to Washington. When he decided to come back south in the spring of 2003, I wanted to meet him and help him drive. He drove from Washington state to Nevada and I flew into Vegas. We only spent one night there, but we stopped at interesting places during our road trip back to Memphis. We kicked off the night on the strip. We weren't big gamblers at the time so we mostly just walked around and we hit up one of the buffets.

The next day we headed out and visited Hoover Dam. It's on the border of Nevada and Arizona. I had never seen anything like it, being a product of the south and all. I was completely fascinated. I think Varryron was less impressed, but he was willing to humor me.

Riding through Arizona was also delightful. The landforms were amazing! There were so many cliffs and Native American artifacts. I made Varryron stop a few times just to take it all in, and of course to buy postcards. I'm sure that he wished I hadn't decided to "help" him drive. He probably could have gotten home much faster without me.

New Mexico was similar to Arizona. We stopped for an overnight in Albuquerque. Other than the landscaping on the highway, we didn't see much of the city. The next morning we forged ahead to Texas.

There was a cool spot in Texas that recreated the story of Jesus. We stopped for a little while and took a few quick pictures. I decided I would come back another time to visit the entire outdoor museum. We were on a mission, and although fascinated by the huge crosses and statues, I was even more ready to get off the road.

The next major city was Oklahoma City, OK. This city reminded me more of what home was like. We seemed to have exited the southwest quite gracefully. I saw more familiar venues, felt a little less dry, and since we were only about 8 hours from home, I started to get a little less restless.

Three hours later, we were in good old Arkansas. Once we hit Little Rock, it was home sweet home. Memphis was only two hours away!!

Overall, it was a great trip. We got to spend some quality time alone and the 20 plus hours of driving didn't kill me.

Good times...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb