Swimming with the Sharks and my 48 hour trip home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
October 7th 2006
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 134: Tuesday, Oct 3: Cape Town

Table Mountain was closed today due to the winds, so I took to the streets and checked out the city. Started with the city center with all the government buildings and museums. Then headed across to Signal Hill and climbed about half way up to get good shots of the city and clear shots of table mountain. Walked back to the hotel where we grabbed some lunch.

After lunch, we headed back to the hostel and I grabbed my bags and took a taxi to my new digs. The ArabellaSheraton Grand Hotel in Cape Town. This was a really nice hotel. Almost as nice as the Le Meridian in Vienna. I got a King Size bed on the 14th floor overlooking the Waterfront. I went down to a German Beerhall, ordered a pork knuckle for old times sake and just had an evening to myself.

I had the bed sleep ever, which i was going to need for the next day.

Day 135: Wednesday, Oct 4: Cape Town

After getting up, I headed back up to the hostel to meet up with the gang and catch our 2 hour shuttle to Dyers Island. On our way we stopped off and did some whale watching. Once we arrived at our location, we hopped onto the boat and took a 15 min ride out to the shark cage. The weather was fantasic and the water was still.

The sharks were there immediately because they had already been out for the morning session and lured the sharks in. They asked for the first 5 volunteers and I grabbed a wet suit and jumped in. The cage sits about 2 ft above the water and 6 ft below.You have a mask but no snorkel. Your head sits above the water until you see the shark coming and they'll yell "down down" where you hold your breath and see the shark swimming by. They'll even bump into the cage on occassion. 30 minutes in the REALLY cold water, but felt like forever and an incredible experience.

We were called out of the water to let the next group in, but were allowed to have another chance later. We got a light lunch on the boat and watched the sharks swim around the next group of victims 😊. There were up to 5 sharks at one time and after we all got out, another shark, about 15 ft in length showed up to see what was going on. On my second dive, I was much colder and there wasn't as much action, but still an amazing experience. Something that not many people will get to do, as its banned in most places across the world and powers that be are trying to ban it here.

After we were through, we headed back, jumped into the shuttle and slept most of the way back. I headed back to my hotel, got a shower and met everyone for drinks and dinner on the Waterfront.

Day 136/137: Thursday, Oct 5 & Friday, Oct 6: Cape Town to Las Vegas (via London, NY and Houston)

In the morning, I packed everything up and then headed to the top of Table Mountain via the Cable way. After an hours walk at the top, I headed down, grabbed a Rikki and headed to the waterfront. Did some last minute shopping. I was originally planning on going to Robben Island, South Africa's version of Alcatraz and where Nelsom Mandela lived for over 20 years. Unfortunately, one of their ferries broke down and they were sold out of tickets.

I checked out of the hotel and headed to the Airport. Flew to London in about 11 hours, had a 2 hour layover and got on the flight to New York. Unfortunately, the passenger list was not immediately approved by the US Govt and we had to sit and wait for an hour. After a 7 hour flight, we landed in NY and once I got my bags and made it through customs, I missed my flight to Houston by about 10 minutes. The next flight would be in 3 hours. I ate some food, relaxed and got onto the next flight. 4 hours later, we land in Houston and I have another hour and a half before my flight to Vegas. I landed in Vegas at about 10:30pm. Between the time I got up in Cape Town and went to bed in Vegas, it was 48 hours. Lets just say I was tired, but glad to be back in the States.

-------------------------------------------

As you may or may not know, I really wrote this journal for myself, but I couldn't think of a better way of doing it than sharing with all of you. It made me feel close to home even though I was on the other side of the world. I hope you enjoyed my travel log, I know I enjoyed writing them. I'll be in San Diego for the next week or so, settling into work, then headed back up to Huntington Beach where i'll be back in Seal Beach working. Once I find a permanent place to live, I'll let you all know my new address, my cell phone is still the same 1-714-654-4887.

Give me a couple of weeks and I'll have all my Africa photos up for your pleasure.. Until next time..

~Dave

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb