Elm Creek


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska » Kearney
August 29th 2007
Published: September 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We drove through Kansas, which was pretty uneventful with the exception of the sunflowers and the worlds largest ball of twine!

NEBRASKA!! First off, I was in three states today that I never thought I would be in: Oklahoma, Kansas and Nebraska…. There is A LOT of corn in Nebraska! We drove to Kearney (where Jared grew up) and he showed me the house he lived in until he was seven, then we went over to the farm house that he spent most of his childhood in. It was just what I’d imagined it to be…right down to the tire swing out front. He showed me the tree that he planted when he was a child….from there we went into town, and I bought a t-shirt at the University of Nebraska @ Kearney. It was my proof that I was there!

We drove over to Elm Creek where his sister Carrie and her fiancée, Isaac live. They have two adorable cats and two dogs, a yorkie-poo named Raisin and Cane, a 130 pound Rottweiler. Cane was quite intimidating at first, but he turned out to be a real sweetie. We took the dogs for a walk that night and then chatted until late.

We were going to leave on Wednesday, but I was waiting to get some forms emailed to me, so we decided to stay another night. We spent most of the day with Carrie, looking at old photo albums (I was disappointed, no embarrassing pics of Jared as a kid) and talking about her wedding plans (they are getting married in Hawaii in May!). She made us BLT sandwiches for lunch with the tomatoes she grew in their backyard..they were delicious!

That evening we went to the movies to see the Bourne Ultimatum. While we were at the mall we were looking in one of the showcases for the local photography store. I asked Jared if he knew anyone in them (b/c it was such a small town) and when we walked around the corner, there was a picture of his family!! They had it taken last year for his grandparents 60th wedding anniversary 😊




Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb