Flathead Lake, Montana


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana
August 8th 2022
Published: August 8th 2022
Edit Blog Post

My campMy campMy camp

A cup of coffee and a great book Don lent me for the trip "To shake the sleeping self". So far at chapter 2, I highly recommend it.
Flathead Lake is located between Polson and Kalispell Montana. Nestled within tree covered mountains the lake has a bed of colorful rocks and is full of the clearest refreshing water. Wonderful to swim in and can walk a long distance out without going to deep. It is a very family friendly location so there is always the sounds of children playing in the water.
The temperature has been around 90. My campspace has trees for shade and is lake front so i can frequently take little dips to cool off. There isn't much of a breeze, everything is calm and quiet. (Just as a little kid swimming by blows bubbles like a boat!)
Polson is popular for their cherries which are in season now. Lucky me! Little stands line the roads in every direction offering the sweet treat.
I met a couple ladies traveling from Arizona for the summer. They were a treat to visit with. I haven't been gone long enough to miss human interaction but it was nice to visit with someone. It always a treat to meet people along the way, share tips and tricks of the area.
Overall, I highly recommend this area. My camp is at Blue Bay, but there are many in the area that are just as nice.
Collect moments, not things.
Michelle



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Sheryl, Jan & MeSheryl, Jan & Me
Sheryl, Jan & Me

These are the two gals I met at a neighboring campsite. Fun conversations!
Moonlit nightMoonlit night
Moonlit night

I enjoyed getting night photos of this beautiful area.
No filters neededNo filters needed
No filters needed

The rocks in Flathead Lake are remarkable! I was surprised to see this. I thought Lake McDonald was going to be my only chance.


8th August 2022

I so appreciate your blog entries. It’s almost like I’m there. Those rocks in the lake are simply amazing.
9th August 2022

thanks for the updates! that lake looks so clear and that night shot of you is great
9th August 2022

Thanks Bob. Pictures of course can't capture the true beauty of the area, but I'm trying my best!
9th August 2022

Beautiful!
Love your photos of Flathead Lake, Michelle. Are you really going to leave that place? :)
9th August 2022

I know, right? Glacier National Park is next on the list. I've heard there are breath taking views there also. So much to see!
9th August 2022

Flat head
You rock lady..lol..get it. Love the location. Been there with Dan it's beautiful..love you..
9th August 2022

Rocks!
I would love to see those rocks. Looks like a beautiful place.

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb