White Water Rafting on the Gallatin


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Big Sky
June 29th 2013
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

CribbageCribbageCribbage

Our crazy game in the tent.
Geo: 45.2855, -111.306

White Water Rafting on the Gallatin

Wow, a strange thing is happening. We slept inside for only the second time this trip and I couldn't sleep that well. I opened all the windows to try and make it the same temp, but it just wasn't the same. I don't know what I will do when I get home. I ran off early and found coffee down the road while Alex slept. I must add, the night before we finished watching a movie we had, and when it ended, just looked at each other and said, "what just happened?"
We explored Big Sky and booked a horseback riding trip for tomorrow. Alex and I went on a 2 mile hike to a big waterfall in the morning. I wish we had mountains back home. It is such a great workout. And, Alex did great on the uphill eventually beating me to the top.
Then we headed out for our rafting adventure. It was a good time, mild as far as rapids go, but a great trip. Alex has been spoiled on strong class 3-5 rapid trips lasting 3-4 hours so I had to explain, we can only go on what the river has to offer for the area we are in. Sit on top kayaking would be awesome. No sooner than we returned than the rain started. Alex mutinied and refused to camp until we exhausted all available options. The hostel was full. Oh, and I have to add, prior to this, we actually found food at a reasonable price. $3.75 pulled pork tacos. They were delicious.
So, we ended up at a campsite after all, free, still to be determined, and the fog rolled in. Inside the tarp covered tent, we had an hour long vicious game of cribbage where the 9 of hearts came up 4 out of 5 hands; statistically unbelievable. That pretty much wraps up another great day!!
Ut!! Before I finished typing this, the local camp patrol guy came by and collected my $14. Apparently he has spies at the grounds here. Interesting guy, told me there a few bears near our site here. If I write a blog tomorrow, we weren't dinner. I figure the little dog in the other tent is a better bear meal than me.

Advertisement



1st July 2013

I think it will be very difficult for you to come back to civilization!! Loving the adventure. Tell Alex he looks as snug as a bug in his tent! Love you both.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb