Route 66 - Illinois to Missouri


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
October 14th 2009
Published: October 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Route 66Route 66Route 66

Original Alignment
The rush of life often leaves me wondering, "Why is it that I fill my schedule up to the brim? Why do I stay too busy to enjoy this wonderful creation?" Words cannot convey the much needed serenity you experience while traveling down Route 66. For me, it's the ultimate disconnect from the rest of the world. The moment we pulled onto the "Mother Road" just outside of the Chicago hustle, I was instantly taken back to a time before my own existence. From 40s gas stations, to car hops and diners, to Burma Shave signs, it's everything I've ever heard about, except this time I'm right in the middle of it. And to think, I didn't even need a Delorean or Christopher Lloyd to go back in time. Just a curious spirit. The historic Route 66 alignments are quite fascinating and at times, takes the acute sense of direction and investigative work of my wife to find. Some times it's clear cut from town to town, but other times it takes off like a badly behaved dog breaking free from a leash. It's not frustrating, but a bit bewildering at times. But with great persistence we always seek it out,
Route 66Route 66Route 66

Original Alignment
and get back on course. So here's the list of towns we traveled through today: Joliet, Wilmington, Dwight, Odell, Pontiac, Bloomington, Funk's Grove, Lincoln, Springfield, Litchfield, Mt. Olive, Staunton, and finally St. Louis, MO. I must now leave the rest of the story telling up to the pictures. My cold-air induction kit on the Magnum has come apart under the hood and must be mended. Luckily, I'm fairly familiar with automobiles.
Download Spence's audio correspondence from the "Maule in the Morning" radio show by copying the address and pasting it in your address bar http://kiwi6.com/upload/hotlink?id=2864mp55


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Launching Pad Launching Pad
Launching Pad

Gemini Giant
Lombardi Chevrolet/BuickLombardi Chevrolet/Buick
Lombardi Chevrolet/Buick

Original signage
Polk-A-Dot Drive-InPolk-A-Dot Drive-In
Polk-A-Dot Drive-In

Car hop along original alignment
Pre 1940 alignmentPre 1940 alignment
Pre 1940 alignment

The stretch we're driving on is original, but the road off to the side is an even older alignment of Route 66. It took various routes through the years
Last Pumps on 66Last Pumps on 66
Last Pumps on 66

The last working pumps along the "Mother Road"
Old Gas StationOld Gas Station
Old Gas Station

There are quite a few of these along the way
Barn Advertisement Barn Advertisement
Barn Advertisement

For Meramec Caverns. Keep in mind, we're still in the middle of Illinois. Meramec Caverns are in Missouri.


14th October 2009

VERY COOL!
Everytime I see these pictures.. I want to see more!! HOW EXCITING!!!! Thanks for doing this.. I had no idea this still even existed!!! :) YAY!!!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb