Sikeston, MO Lambert's Cafe


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Sikeston
July 12th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

If you live in Tennessee like myself, this is a short weekend trip (or a day trip if you live in West Tennessee). The drive itself is not much to brag about, although our route does take us through some nice country and close to two wineries in Springville and Paris. Going through Dyersburg you will see a lot of water and be pretty close to Reelfoot Lake.

The real gem I am talking about is Lambert's Cafe in Sikeston, Mo. This place is great. There are two more locations, Gulf Shores, Al and Ozark, MO. This one is closer to my house so I try to get up here every now and then for a good meal and a roll thrown at my face; I will explain this below.

Lambert's is unique in that if you hold up your hand they will throw a roll to you. You can be across the building and they will throw a huge dinner roll to you! I have eaten at all 3 of the establishments and they are all great. The food is great and you can get southern food from frog legs to meatloaf. Or a huge salad if that is what you prefer. Plan to get there early, because they don't take reservations and sometimes the wait is long.

In Sikeston there is an outlet mall, otherwise the town is not that impressive. I did find a good used book store while here called Book Bug. Pretty good selection of used Science Fiction and Fantasy books among others. On the way back being the book fanatic that I am, we stopped in Jackson, TN and I hit up a bookstore or two there as well; Bookrack and Booklady. The Booklady was better and the staff was just a nice lady who has owned the store for years. I recommend stopping by here if you are ever in Jackson.

I will blog about another neat place I recently ate in my next blog about Minneapolis/St. Paul and eating at Bubba Gump Shrimp in the Mall of America!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb