Corydon, Illinois to Poplar Bluff, Missouri - 323 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Poplar Bluff
April 25th 2016
Published: April 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The major event today was wind. I know what you are thinking, but it was not the Bob's Big Boy burger I had the night before, but a southerly breeze of some 20 miles an hour that plagued much of the ride. As I headed west on I64 I felt I was leaning 10-20 degrees to the left to compensate. Then I headed south down I57 (so much for getting off the interstate) where it became a head wind. Only for the last hour did I get on Route 60 west. It looks like I can take this for a long long way. Certainly not much of interest in the initial stages as I cross the plains, but at least they are green and there are the occasional fields of yellow flowers which look and smell beautiful. The highlight was crossing the Mississippi river near Cairo (why not the Nile you ask). Tried to sing Ol' Man River, but could not recall much.

It hit 87F at one point today. That and the wind left me pretty tired upon arrival and I am content with a glass of wine and a subway sandwich. Life in the fast lane.

Advertisement



27th April 2016

Running against the wind
My sympathies regarding your struggle with heavy winds. Many a time I have skittered across one or more lanes as local topography changed, and as a result had my heart pounding as I either got hit by a gust or had a steady stream interrupted by a hill. No fun at all. All you can do is hunker down low, and dance with the dust devils. Here's hoping for a smooth tail wind for you tomorrow.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb