I hate speed traps!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Kansas City
August 16th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.103, -94.583

Trip was uneventful until I got to Kansas City. I have used my car's cruise control to avoid getting a ticket. Every summer for the past 2 years I have gotten a speeding ticket. While I know that I drive fast, both of those times, I was either coming downhill or just not paying attention to the spedometer. However, this time I got caught in a speed trap along with other drivers just as I entered Kansas City. The interstate's speed is 70mph and the interchange was apparently 55mph. I was trying to stay in the lane that would keep me on I70W, had to deal with road construction, and then noticed all the cops along the right shoulder. The semi infront of me did to, swerved into my lane, cutting me off with another interchange coming up. With all the traffic behind me, I had room to swerve into the fast lane and I sped up to see around the semi. And of course that's when I got tagged by a motorcop doing 75mph! After pulling over and trying to explain it all, he still gave me a ticket (at least he lowered it to 65 in a 55)! When I tried to state my case again, he told me not to raise my voice with him and that he was just doing his job. I stated that I wasn't raising my voice and then he interrupted with, "You know I could just change the ticket back to 75 in a 55 if you keep this up. I'm doing you a favor by at least lowering it!" I said, "Fine!" , signed the ticket, and then cut him off mid sentence when he started telling me how to pay for the ticket with "Yeah, yeah, yeah, I can read the directions myself. Thank you and have a pleasant day!" I turned on my engine and he wished me a good day and walked away. I was out of there even before he got on his bike. I was so upset! 3 other cars were also pulled over at the same spot and one driver was just getting pulled over as I was leaving! And of course I can't contest it since I am not from the area and can't be in court to plead my case! What a bunch of crock!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb