Kansas City Weekend: Girls, Hair Extensions, Garage Sales, Farm Animals and Cocktails


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Kansas City
July 19th 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

2008 Impala LTZ2008 Impala LTZ2008 Impala LTZ

My Sweet Ride on her maiden voyage to KC
This weekend was all about “fun” and letting my hair down with my friends Judy, Molly and their extended friends. I had no set agenda other than taking my sweet ride on her maiden voyage and having some fun.


So here goes with the cast of characters for the weekend:
Judy and Greg (Des Moines) I’ve known them since 2005 (Drake trip to Europe)
Molly (Louisburg) Longtime friend of Judy who lives on farm with Jeff and 101 plus exotic animals
Kelley (Des Moines) Longtime friend of Molly and Judy
Teresa (Kansas City) College friend of Judy
Annette (Lincoln) High school friend of Molly


First, a little about my “sweet ride”. After eleven years of driving the shopping mobile minivan, I was ready for a change. After three months of looking, I found this sweet ride - 2008 Chevy Impala LTZ. Loaded like Michael Jackson’s kids and as sweet as Hugh Jackman (did you see him in Australia?). Thanks Bob and Jan for sharing your nice car with me. It has gone to a really good home.

The drive from Des Moines to Kansas City is three hours. We left promptly at 4:30 pm and met
Judy "Farah" Sebern BeachyJudy "Farah" Sebern BeachyJudy "Farah" Sebern Beachy

Judy's tribute to Farah Faucet with the aid of Jessica Simpson
up with Judy’s man- Greg- in Bethany, MO for dinner (longstory here, they live a split life in KC and DM). He was heading to Des Moines and us girls to Kansas City. For dinner, we had a little breakfast at the Country Kitchen. Pancakes are great anytime of the day. Thanks for the dinner Greg and Judy.

Next stop, TJ Max in Liberty, MO. Why, we are both TJ junkies (Greg too) and what a find we found; Jessica Simpson hair extensions. Boy did we have a lot of fun Friday night primping, Judy more than me. We ended the night giving props to Farah Faucet. I spent the night sleeping on the daybed that I passed on to Judy. She and Greg did a fantastic job with the restoration. They are good stewards to mother earth.


With only five hours of rest, I was up at the crack of dawn and made some zucchini bread, found a farmers market and picked up some breakfast at McDonalds, all by 9:30 am. Call me crazy, but you only have so many hours to have fun with your friends. A cup of coffee helps too. With an hour
Aggie AcresAggie AcresAggie Acres

Aggie Acres, Home Of Molly and Jeff Hunt
to burn, I checked out a few garage sales in the neighborhood. I love sales and here are some of my finds: a great picture of the Flat Iron Building in NYC (my favorite city), scrapbooking paper and some odds and ends. Garage sales are awesome. Your junk is my treasure.


After a few more errands, Kelley arrived and we all hopped into the sweet ride for lunch to meet up with Molly and Annette. We ate at an Asian restaurant and I had bubble tea for the first time. As my friend Susan would say, “bubble tea was just okay”. Next, a short 30 minute ride to Molly’s farm, Aggie Acres, in Louisburg, KS. Yikes, this city girl is now in KS.


The afternoon brought additional friend, Teresa. Props to all for their long-term friendship. They do a great job making this work. I’m envious but learning how this works.
First activity, floating in the farm pond. Yes, the girl who does not or should I say can’t swim, took time out to float after a few cocktails and dodged a fish or two. Cocktails, something like "strip and go naked". After drying out, we
Dinner Is ServedDinner Is ServedDinner Is Served

Food Was Awesome!
got ready for dinner. Molly is a fantastic cook and she makes an extravagant dinner look so easy. Props to Molly.

Here’s the menu:
Homemade Hummus from Teresa, Roasted Pear Salad
Turkey Roulade Stuffed with Cranberries and Sausage Stuffing
Sweet Potato Sticks
Green Beans with Pine Nuts that never left the microwave
Berries and Cream with Shortbread-Berries were soaked in Grand Marnier


The dinner was Yum-O, the dessert was FANtastic and the girl talk…..what can I say, learned a thing or two from these ladies. This is what I enjoy the most, chit chatting and being silly. Judy is great at this and I'm a work in progress. Off to bed for an early rise of yoga on the lawn. Yes, you heard me right.

Sunday came early and I treated myself to sleep-in until 7:30 am. Molly hired her yoga instructor, Nichole, to give us a “gentle yoga session”. We started out at 9:30 and boy, did we have fun and I did not even pull a hammey. Nichole, was as flexible as Gumby, thin as a rail and as strong as an ox. The lesson ended with one of Molly’s animals, Peeps, taking a
Judy and PeepsJudy and PeepsJudy and Peeps

Judy enabling Peeps
walk-about. This was way too funny and one memory that we will all not forget.

We ended the morning with brunch and champagne. Yes, we had champagne for a good reason, solidifying old friendships and making new ones. A little more girl talk and before my weekend was over, a walk through to see the animals. Yes you are seeing right, Molly and Jeff have a lot of animals. You name it, they have it or have had it. They too are good stewards of mother earth.


Much appreciation to Molly and Judy for hosting the weekend, Molly for the fine culinary dishes, Jeff for allowing us girls to high-jack the house for the weekend, Greg for sharing his “bride” with us and the rest for allowing me to join their circle of friends. I left Kansas City with a few trinkets and a great smile on my face. I needed this. Two more weeks for my next adventure, Toronto for Carabana.

Above The Best

Ann



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Yoga at Aggie AcresYoga at Aggie Acres
Yoga at Aggie Acres

The peacock pose by Nichole
Peeps Taking A StrollPeeps Taking A Stroll
Peeps Taking A Stroll

Here Peeps is checking out the ladies during our yoga session
PeepsPeeps
Peeps

Peeps Rule
Teresa and PeepsTeresa and Peeps
Teresa and Peeps

Peeps loves the ladies
What The HectWhat The Hect
What The Hect

I'm lost on this one
Mr. PeacockMr. Peacock
Mr. Peacock

The picture tells it all
Mini PoniesMini Ponies
Mini Ponies

Yep, Mini Ponies
Hard WorkHard Work
Hard Work

Living On A Farm Is Hard Work
AnnetteAnnette
Annette

Annette and the donkey
BuffaloBuffalo
Buffalo

Home is where the buffalo roams
Annette and MangoAnnette and Mango
Annette and Mango

Annette enabling Mango at the dinner table
Sunday BrunchSunday Brunch
Sunday Brunch

Brunch At Molly's----Yum-O
Kelley Kelley
Kelley

Keep dreaming Kelley, you'll get your horse


24th July 2009

Fun
Ann this was great. It was fun to read and made me want to be there. Yoga and animals I think you are spreading your wings. Am so glad you enjoyed your new car. You know how I love animals and food this was right up my alley. Can't wait for the next one! Thanks for sharing.
25th July 2009

interesting weekend
Ann, It sounds like you were learning alot on this past weekend expedition! Enjoyed the pictures! Always fun to share good time with friends. Such as the delicous supper we shared at your house tonight. Thanks a bunch. Karen and Doug

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb