09 Vintage Bike Show


Advertisement
Published: July 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Floyd & The 1950 Indian WarriorFloyd & The 1950 Indian WarriorFloyd & The 1950 Indian Warrior

He and his dad rebuilt the bike.
7 June 2009, Sunday
The Vintage Bike Show finished off a really great weekend. Well over a thousand miles and three days. Life is good. Today I slept til 11AM then called Darrel and asked if he was ready for go to a bike show. A call to Roger to confirm where it was and we were off. Darrels son Nickolas came with us. He was passenger on Darrels bike. I had planned to eat lunch there but there were not any vendors.

I ran into several people I knew. Floyd Fleming was one of the first ones. Central Midwest HOG group. He was there displaying his 1950 Indian Warrior. It was a bike that he and his father had rebuilt and brought back to life. I asked hime why the hell he had a harley when he had this bike. He chuckled and said because he likes to ride a motorcycle. I guess the Indian is a twitchy.

Roger Berquest was there he is one of the past directors from my HOG group. Roger and I always have time to compare notes on different rides we are doing. He is into the Iron Butt stuff too, but he is more into the certified rides, having done the 50CC and talking about doing the 100CCC. That would be coast to coast in 50 or make it a round trip in less than 100 hours. The popular route is Jacksonville FL to San Diego CA. I am more in to the endurance rallys that are offered inside this rider community. For more info in the Iron Butt Association check out this website:

Roger was talking with Alan Bennett about the auxillary tank he had and how he had mounted it. Alan was there showing his IBR bike. After Roger left Alan & I discussed the project of adding the AUX tank to my bike. I had a second gas tank for my bike and had thought to mount in behind the rider seat pointing backward then get some ape hangers to use a sissy bar for a bag holder. Alan came out to the parking lot and we discussed the project.

I wanted lunch when this was done, but Darrel and Nick just wanted to get a slushy, so off we went in a hunt for the sour apple slushie that I guess is only available at selected
Gear indicator.Gear indicator.Gear indicator.

Of course you aren't going to see it when seated.
QTs, it took 2 before we found one. A week later the machine at this QT was busted. If you get a chance to try one of the SA sluches you should they were really good.





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

It was just awesome.It was just awesome.
It was just awesome.

Floyd showed me his bike as only an owner can. It was a master piece.
NortonNorton
Norton

I love the looks of the old Nortons
the Parking lotthe Parking lot
the Parking lot

Bikes out there were just about as interesting as the ones inside.
Looking down on the showLooking down on the show
Looking down on the show

They had a plane that you could tour also. this is from the ladder of that plane. The plane was used in a couple movies. one with Jim Carey.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb