Laura's Spring Fling


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Kansas City
April 22nd 2007
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Having had enough of Key West, we drove to the Fort Lauderdale airport and I jumped on a plane to Kansas City to visit Laura and James. James was at the other end to meet me - isn’t it such a treat when one is met at the airport? So often, I am making my own way. He dropped me off at the bar where Laura was and we spent a lovely evening catching up, seeing some friends and eating great Italian food.

The next day was Laura’s birthday (she’s a few months older than I, so I never miss an opportunity to celebrate that fact with her). She and I had a fabulous lunch together talking about all kinds of things and solving the problems of the world. We then went on a birthday pub crawl picking up various people along the way. We ended up at the bar in the bottom of her building, which was convenient - especially as neither of us was in the mood to walk very far at the end of it all!

The next day was Laura’s annual Spring Fling. She basically invites everyone she knows to her house for a huge party. Loads of fun and I got to see a lot of people I hadn’t seen for a while. It roared on late into the night, but I gave up early.

I was glad the next day, as I had to end all the fun and games and come home. Although I did manage to unpack when I arrived, most of the day was spent comfortably on my sofa sleeping through the various shows I had recorded.

My father used to say that the two best times in a trip are as one is setting off and as one gets home. I agree. It was absolutely lovely to be in my own house again - even after such great adventures.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb