Home!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
May 10th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well we got home last night. Everything went great on the flight; we actually arrived almost an hour early, so that was great. I thought I would just kinda sum up the rest of the trip, even though I'm home... The second day that we were in England, we went into London for the day. We drove to a tube stop a little ways outside of London and then took the tube to a stop near Buckingham Palace and started the day there. Buckingham Palace was cool, but not much different that when I was there in 2000. We then walked towards the London Eye by Big Ben. Then we went on the London Eye, which was really cool (but incredibly expensive!!). It was a gorgeous day out, so that was great. When I was there in 2000, it was pouring rain, so we couldn't really see much when we were on it. We really lucked out because this time we were in England for almost five days and didn't see rain once. Last time I was there it rained almost every day that we were there. Anyways, the view from the London Eye was great! We could see super far, and it's really cool because the whole ride takes about half hour so you get a lot of time to look at everything. Anyways, then after that we went to Trafalgar Square and got on the Metro to get to the British Museum. I appreciated that museum so much more now than when I was eleven. Last time I was there, the only thing I knew anything about was the Rosetta Stone, so that was all that I really cared to look at. This time, Emily and I were very educated on most of the Greek stuff and a lot of the Egyptian and Middle Eastern stuff. It was especially cool to see all of the things from the Parthenon. I really didn't realize how much stuff that the British have taken from the Parthenon. Hardly any of the sculptures at the Parthenon are original because all of the originals are in the British Museum. So that was the best part about that museum (and it was also free, which was amazing!). But it was cool to see a lot of the other things from other countries as well. We saw a few of the exhibits from Japan and China which was interesting because we haven't really studied that at all, so it was kinda neat to get a little information on that part of the world. Anyways, later that night we went to "Spamalot." That was awesome! It was so funny! And something that I thought was really cool was that King Arthur was played by the same person as Caleb Nichols from The O.C. And Emily and I had really good seats too... We were in row H on the floor, so that was great. Anyways, the other day of sight seeing in England consisted of Stonehenge and Winsor Castle. Stonehenge was amazing! It is so random and such a great mathematical defeat. It is really in the middle of nowhere. There are just green plains and it's just right there. The rocks were brought from like 200 miles away, and this was about 2,000 years ago, so that's pretty incredible. And also that they got the rocks in that formation. So that was really neat to see that. Then we drove to Winsor, but we actually didn't go to the castle (we looked at it from the outside) because it was super expensive (15 pounds, or a little over $30). And we had seen lots of castles and palaces throughout our trip, so we just walked around town for a while. So that's pretty much what we did in England! Then on Friday Chris drove us to the airport and Emily and I had a great flight. It was probably one of the smoothest flights I have ever been on and it was a little under 8 hours and it was supposed to be about 9, so that was great. And I just watched movies the whole time, so it went by super fast. And then we got to the cities and my parents picked me up and now I am home 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb