One Week And Counting...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
March 20th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's just past midnight-thirty on the 20th, marking the beginning of the one week countdown to Chile. I've wasted a bunch of money buying new things for the trip - who doesn't want to impress the locals with a killer wardrobe? But now that my worries over the visa and illness and supplies have passed, the fear is beginning to set in. Holy Crap. For some reason, I am convinced that I am screwed. Because honestly, what was I thinking? And who decided I was a reasonable candidate for this??? An entire semester in Spanish? Where I probably won't even have central heating in the dead of winter??? Yeah, definitely. Screwed is definitely the word on my mind.

There is a smidgen of excitement tailgating, just as there should be, but the terror is finally setting in as this becomes real. No friends or big brothers to carry me along when I get overwhelmed this time, not even anyone from the same state. (I think the closest person geographically is from Michigan.)

If nothing else, I hope you enjoy the spazzing that is sure to come. In the meantime, look out for the next installment of "Casey's Screwedness".

PS-The two things I am presently looking forward to seeing upon my arrival in Chile: 1) Sea Lions, from a distance, and: 2) water that flushes in the opposite direction.

Advertisement



30th March 2008

ooooh
I didn't realize their water flushes in the opposite direction, interesting...you will be fine with the Spanish. It is surprising how little words are in communicating. Alright looking forward to your next post!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb