Granola Grubbin'


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
August 12th 2014
Published: August 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

IMG_2542IMG_2542IMG_2542

Here I am this past January at the local market with the Hawaiian woman who makes the coconut syrup!
Happy Tuesday! Hello friends, I am writing to you to share my love for eating for on-the-go traveling.

Grubbing while traveling may seem like a hectic, stressful and expensive add on of your travel. Let me tell you there is plenty of stress free-budget friendly snacks that you can make ahead of time or prepare prior to your travels! One of my personal favorites is mixing up a batch of granola prior to traveling. When I say traveling I mean anything from backpacking, flying, camping, or a road trip up north. Granola is an easy to make health friendly snack for all to enjoy 😊 This morning, on my day off, thanks to my flexible float teacher job, I whipped up a batch of coconut-mango granola. On my trip to Hawaii this past January I was drawn to buying coconut at a local market while on the island of Kauai. Until today, I had forgot about that coconut syrup. I was rummaging through the cabinets today when I came across the coconut syrup and thought HEY this would be tasteful in a batch of granola. My ingredients was simply 4 items.

-Oats (about 3 cups)

-Coconut syrup (As
photophotophoto

My granola creation
said I used to syrup I bought in Hawaii but you can find coconut syrup at your local grocery store. Or use honey! This is great too.)

-dried fruit (I used mangoes by popular demand of myself.)

-nuts (I use walnuts because I like the walnut-mango mix.)

Simply mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl and add coconut syrup, mix well. Spread the mix evenly onto pan and bake at 350 degree for 15-20 min, mixing throughout time to avoid burning.

Here is the finished product. Throw it in Tupperware (or Ziploc baggies if backpacking) and you are good to granola!



Happy Tuesday! I sure hope everyone is out and about soaking up the remainder of our Minnesota summer sun!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb