11 Days and Counting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan
September 24th 2014
Published: September 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Spain and France

2014 trip with Raj

I am not sure what other folk's tactic is for clicking the "work off" button at the end of the day, but I certainly could use some tips. For better or worse, I think I cope with stress via adventure. At this point, I pray I survive the next 11 days to get my fix. Raj, a friend in India, invited Alex and I to join him for backpacking in Europe. Alex has a conflict, but I can't turn down the opportunity so I immediately got time approved and recently scrounged up enough for a plane ticket (and by scrounged, I mean travel is something I save for year-round, but needed a couple more pay checks and had to tap into my Emergency fund (financial advisor Carolyn Matteson approved)... I'm not ballin').

I've been working out more regularly. Trying to sleep better when I can. Paying better attention to what I eat.

But this stress.

I had to cut my workout in half last night, physically exhausted with just barely enough energy to make it home... barely... and then after a solid three hours of sleep... back up, adrenaline pumping, counting sheep, deep breathing, anything to try to turn off the spinning real of essentially being told day after day that you're worthless and incompetent by the same person. It's not true. I know it's not true, but exhausting all energy on trying to figure out a tactic to please this one person, or at the bare minimum lighten the blows for others... maybe some common ground even... only to repeatedly come back to what is wrong with me............ 4,258.5 miles between me and that should do the trick (for now).

Raj, like most people from other countries, gets some solid time off from work. He'll be traveling all around Italy and I'll be tagging on to the second half of his journey.

Barcelona, Spain > Madrid, Spain > Paris, France




I met a guy yesterday that told me I should check out Rick Steves, a guidebook author for European travel. On my way home, Wait Wait Don't Tell Me! came on the radio and who was the guest? None other than Rick Steves. So today I downloaded some free podcasts about Spain and the planning begins.

Of course, by "planning," I mean that I'd like to know where I'll be sleeping, have a general idea of what there is to do in the area and what kind of food I should be experiencing, but not actually planning out my days.

Two weeks ago, I could not point out Barcelona or Madrid on a map let alone identify what one would do there. This is how all of my trips start. It's a good way to motivate yourself to learn about the history, geography and culture.


• Plane ticket, 2.5 weeks before flight, 1-stop there, direct flight back
$1,361
• Shared 6-person hostel rooms for 10 nights
$331
• EuroRail: Barcelona to Madrid
$158
• Flight from Madrid to Paris
$44
• Travel and lodging for 11 days/10 nights
TOTAL: $1,894


I am hoping to find some local places in less touristy areas for authentic cuisine and markets that are reasonably priced. My standard souvenir is a shot glass (functional, cheap, easy to transport) from each location. I'm only taking the pack on my back so no luggage fees for the plane.

Activity options mentioned in podcast:


• Take in Gaudi's architecture (I heard on the podcast today that our word gaudy stems from Gaudi's style)
• Eat tapas
• Drink local wine, obviously
• Visit a Picasso museum($20)
• Enjoy the night life - dinnertime doesn't start until 9:30 and things come to life after
Check out a bullfight
• Visit a Salvador Dali museum($15)
• Visit Salvador Dali's house($15)
• Take a day trip to Toledo


Ah, well... this helped. Journaling always helps.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb