Less Than 3 Weeks...


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So as I sit here on my weekend off in beautiful rainy Northern Michigan, I start to freak out that I have less than 3 weeks to go until I board the MV Explorer and start this journey with Semester at Sea. So I made a to-do list for this weekend so that I'm not doing it all in the one week I have at home before we head to the Bahamas:
1. Make a blog (check)
2. Order my books
3. Buy a world map to put on my wall to track my trip
4. Start reading my required text for class (not going to happen)
5. Learn how to speak Spanish and Italian
Now as we know, half of those probably won't happen, but it's good to have goals right?

Anyways, now I'm going to give you the big picture and the little picture of this sahweeeet programs I'll be participating in.

Big picture: I go to the Bahamas with my dad on June 15th and then from there, I will get on the MV Explorer (the ship) on the 17th and start this journey. Here's the itinerary:

Nassau, Bahammas (Embark) - June 17th
Barcelona, Spain - June 27th-30th
Naples/Rome (Civtavecchia), Italy - July 2nd-8th
Dubrovnik, Croatia - July 11th-14th
Athens (Piraeus), Greece - July 17th-21st
Varna, Bulgaria - July 24th-27th
Istanbul, Turkey - July 29th-August 2nd
Casablanca, Morocco - August 8th-12th
Boston, Mass (Disembark) - August 20th
Lawrence, Kansas - August 21st

Sounds pretty sweet huh? Then from there I move into my house and start classes again at KU all within 48 hours of getting off the boat. Fun fun.

Little Picture: While on the boat, I will be taking classes in Global Studies: The Art of the Mediterranean, Poetics of Travel (which could get interesting), and Integrating Global Perspective in K-12 Curriculum. All the students are required to take the Global Studies class, I'm really excited for the education class, and as for that poetry class...well just be glad you won't be there to hear what I struggle to come up with. Lets just say, I got my dad's poetic skills...
Besides the classes, there are clubs, workout classes, events, and sports that I will be participating in. Lots of the students come from all over the place so I am really looking forward to meeting all sorts of people from all over the place.

As for communication, I will have limited internet, phone and skying abilities, so that's why I have set up this oh so lovely blog. I will also have unlimited email through the University so once I get that address, I will be sure to pass it on to y'all. Other than that, I will be attempting to update this blog as much as possible, so keep on checking in! There should be pictures and such added as I travel 😊 I can't wait to share it all with you!

Countdown: 19 days until we board the boat!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb