Worries


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » East Lansing
November 7th 2005
Published: November 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I confess to being a control freak. Whether it’s with a campaign or with a trip, I like my environment and my future to be scheduled with everything arranged and in its proper place. While my duties at work often exceed those of anyone else in the office, my desk is nearly bare by comparison to those of my co-workers -it appears that I do nothing. I don’t deal well with uncertainty and a lack of organization.

I’ve realized through my planning for this upcoming trip that Thailand is far from predictable. This country is so laid back and chaotic that it is impossible to acquire the feeling that I’ve adequately prepared for this trip. My favorite haunts, Ireland and Toronto, fit my personality well. I know exactly what to expect from them. The TTC (Toronto’s subway) is simple and runs on time, always warning riders to “Mind the Gap”. A pint of Guinness will always take a perfect 4 minutes with a proper double pour. Thailand doesn’t operate with this level of precision/safety. It has me worried.

Perhaps this is good for me, the uncertainty of what I face in the next two weeks. Maybe this easy-going tropical environment will help me relax. Maybe I will become a better person because of it. In the meantime however, my long planned vacation seems more like a challenge than a chance to relax and get away from it all.

Stick with me these next 12 days. I may need a hand to hold before I return to the comfort of Michigan.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb