Day 22 - A Trip Down Memory Lane, Attleboro and North Attleboro


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Took a trip to Attleboro today and visited my old stomping ground. The house my grandfather built for us circa 1946 is still standing. The house and yard that accommodated 8 of us, that I thought were so large as a child, now appear so small. I took a picture of the Briggs Corner School, a 3-room elementary schools I attended grades Kindergarten through 4th grade. When my sister Diane attended there, just three years before me, it had 7 grades in this 3 room building. I also remembered the Briggs Corner Store, which was just a shack when I was young, is still in the same spot. As kids we would pick up bottles on the side of the road and would purchase penny-candy with the 3-cent reward.



I also visited my Aunt Alma and her daughter, my cousin Deb. We reminisced about the old times, going back some 50 years ago. We had a great visit and I enjoyed it immensely. On my way to North Attleboro to visit more family, I stopped at La Salette Shrine. Every year at Christmas, there were thousands and thousands of colorful lights. It was something we always looked forward to seeing as kids and we took our kids and grandkids to see the display. They were having outdoor Mass when I arrived which was very inspiring.



In North Attleboro I visited my Aunt Connie and my cousins, Judy and Karen, Aunt Connie looked great at 93 and such a pleasure to talk to. Judy and Karen and I reminisced and got all caught up with each other's lives. We had so many wonderful memories of growing up as kids on Hoppin Hill, which was referred to as "Brownsville" because almost everyone of the nine Brown siblings lives there along with their parents. Also met with cousin Linda and her husband Larry who still live on the Hill. It was such a great day seeing relatives that I hadn't seen in years. Took a picture of our old house on the hill and drove by the Log Cabin I built in 1984. The vegatation was a little overgrown. And then I went to visit Mom, David and Chuck at the Paine Road Cemetery.



It was all-in-all a great day. At night the kids, Jess, Sam (Dill) and I played Mexican train and us big kids drank Rum Punch drinks. I think we all might have drunk a little too much it though!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Paine Rd CemeteryPaine Rd Cemetery
Paine Rd Cemetery

Visiting my Mom, Davids and Chucky


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb