And the WORLD CHAMPION is...


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesssss!!!!Yesssss!!!!Yesssss!!!!

the champions
Do I really need to say any more than that? What a game, what a journey!

Not much time left here at home. Trying to say all the good bye's that need to be said and do that last minute rushing around that always seems to accompany a long time away from home. If for some reason I didn’t get to you, please know that I did my best. My sister came into town for the 4th and it was great to hang out with her. She is moving to San Diego in August so the next time I see her it will be in California. I thin this will be the first time she has moved and the sofa won't be on my back!! Good luck Tristan. I think she is just about as excited about this trip as Mike and I are. She of course sees this as the stepping stone to our Madagascar trip next summer.

I went to the beach in Manchester by the Sea yesterday, one of my favorites, and had a strange realization while there. There was a very dark skinned black girl there, not a common sight in Manchester. I think she may have been the only non-white person on the entire beach. As I looked around I couldn’t help but think of what a parallel universe it will feel like to walk the beach in Ghana. I imagine I may be one of the few white people on the beach. I guess I’ll just have to wit and find out.

I think some of the side-effects from my anti-malarial medication are starting to wear off as my body gets used to it. The list of side-effects is pretty lengthy. I definitely suffered from insomnia and a bit of anxiety and depression. They also say that they can cause nightmares. Not one to believe such a thing I didn’t hesitate to take this medicine. I tell you this because I did have a very strange dream the other night. In the dream my students all locked me in a closet, where there wasn’t any Starbucks. It was terrible (sound familiar to any you?)

A quick note to Tori and Rachel--- Thanks for checking in to this message board. It is nice to know that at least a couple kids from the class will be with me in spirit on my journey. That being said, enough about the lion… that could really happen!! Not to mention that it is the hippos I’ll have to watch out for. They kill more people each year than lions!


I can’t wait ‘til Tuesday!
eric


Advertisement



10th July 2006

World Cup and Africa
We have been checking the blog daily and can't wait to hear more from abroad. Kevin sent an email early this morning, but I am not sure where it went? We didn't send as comment, I think direct to blogger or private message. His message was something like: "I predicted Italy in the finals too! Really wanted to see Italy and Portugal in the finals, not France (they got lucky). I want to go to the North End today to watch the finals but my parents thought it would be too crazy. Also said to Eric and Mike "Have a great trip and take LOTS of pictures!! My mom and dad (Eric and Scott too) also said have a fun and safe trip (be careful, especially at the beach). Look foward to hearing lots more about your trip. Go Italy!! --Kevin P.S. Rachel and Abbey, "Italy not Ireland"
10th July 2006

I can't think of a title...
OH YEAH! TORI AND I WERE THE FIRST PACI-MINIONS TO POST! Oh and also, I learned how to shoot elastics! YAY! Now if another bird picks at my A/C, watch out...
10th July 2006

I can't wait till I start getting travelblogs from West Africa!!! Mike...you better take good care of my big brother...I only have one, you know! And, if you don't, you will have to answer to me!!! Just kidding...I am very excited for both of you as your adventures are about to begin!
10th July 2006

The Time Is Here
Well, what a World Cup and Italy did it for us. Something for you to think and smile about during your travels. and maybe even gloat about if needed at times. The time is here now so go for it and experience it all but remember to stay safe and watch out for wild animals. Will be checking back in the weeks ahead to see of any news from the two of you. Remember all of us here will be with you in spirit during this wonderful adventure. I hope you had your fill of Starbucks before you leave. Enjoy this experience of a lifetime and bring back lots to share with all of us back home. Lucille
10th July 2006

We'll miss you guys!
Well....I have been reading this journal since it began and finally have figured out how to post to it (I think!). I can't believe that you are leaving tomorrow! The last few weeks have been great - watching all those World Cup games with you both - Eric, you're predictions were spot on, from the start! My Italian heritage came through in the end and I was glad that they won. (shame on me for doubting them all along ;) Michael...what can I say? Thank you, my friend, for the fantastic rock session week with Gia and Dev (a.k.a. Midnight Blonde :) We had a lot of fun and the new CD is quite amazing! Can't wait until people get to hear this one! Thanks so much for everything! Hopefully, all the preparations for the trip are complete...if they aren't - c'est la vie, eh? You guys have worked hard to think of all that you'll need, so I am confident that you're all set. Michael....hope the net works out for you - didn't quite come out perfectly, but I tried! Will take care of the plants....cross fingers that my brown thumb takes a turn for the better, okay? Will miss you and will be looking forward to hearing all about this adventure when you return. Wishing you both a wondrous and entirely safe journey!! Lots of love.....Suzie Hi Mike and Eric! It has been great watching the World Cup games with you - I am so glad that Italy won! (Mike....England is still in my heart :) Michael, thanks so much for the wonderful rock session - I had SO much fun! I am looking forward to doing more music with you when you get back and will be working on new songs while you're away! Good luck and my best wishes on your exciting trip! I will miss you dudes a LOT! :( Will see you when you get back! Lots of love, Gia
11th July 2006

Good luck...
Glad Italy won. I haven't posted because I'm not computer-literate enough to know how these things work, so hopefully you'll see this okay. I know I read at least one thing that said don't reply to this, so I didn't. Mackenzie hasn't seen it yet. I will share it with her and Devin as you go along your travels. Wishing you both the best of times. We'll see you both when you get back. I'll buy you each a Starbucks -- although my memory is that at least one of you is a Dunkin's guy.... Travel safe... Regards, Shirley and the rest of the Newell clan.
11th July 2006

happy summer
That ITALY game so totaly rocked! Our friends who watched with us had painted their faces with French color; it was so funny! My Dad said he and Michael saw you tonight. Have fun on your trip. Say hi to Mr. Allen. See you when you get back (if you do...), Leila PS: nice dream
11th July 2006

Mac D does Ice Cream in Ghana
Well you are off today albeit a bit earlier than you thought! I am sure the pair of you will have a great time and what an experience. I need to mention that I am still slightly gutted that England didn't win the World Cup but having said that in many ways dear old Crewe Alex would have performed better ... keep in touch and stay safe this is Antony sending love and and best wishes to Mike and Eric.. Mike will explain what Mac D can do for you!
11th July 2006

Life is an adventure enjoy the ride!
Well Eric you are now at the airport anxiously awaiting to board your flight to another land. Hope this is a memorable adventure and one that you will talk about for a long time to come. I miss you immensley already... but am truly excited for you. Thanks for stopping by this morning it was nice to get a hug before you left. Please stay safe, take care and return whole. I love you much. Mom - Mike have a great trip I know you are traveling with an amazing guy - stay safe and enjoy the adventure. Ok lets see if this works now since it is my first time trying to send to the "BLOG"

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb