$1500 Cape Cod Challenge Day 4: Craigville Beach and Mini Golf


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We have had fanstastic weather this week on Cape Cod. The last few days have been a regular heat wave. The family was all exhausted after the whale watching trip so we slept in on Day 4. I let the husband sleep until 10:30, after all it's his vacation too!

When everyone was finally up, we walked across the street to Craigville Beach. The kids really enjoyed running in and out of the water and trying to build sandcastles. Craigville Beach is one of the nicer beaches on the Cape from what I've read on Tripadvisor.com, and I can see why. It's pretty large, there are lifeguards on duty (several of them spread out along the shore), plenty of parking, and two snack shops if you get the munchies. The beach is located on Nantucket Sound which is supposed to have the warmest swimming water on the Cape.

When we were ready for lunch we grilled hotdogs and had lunch outside the condo. There are picnic tables set up out there in the back yard.

After lunch we showered and the kids took a nap before dinner. Dinner on Day 4 was a splurge. We went to Clancy's in Dennisport (www.clancysrestaurant.com). You can't go to Cape Cod without partaking in the fantastic seafood. Neither of us are fans of clams, but my husband likes a good fish fry and I love crab cakes. I had read rave reviews of Clancy's online and it's won several awards on Cape Cod so we were happy to try it out.

After dinner it was time for miniature golf. Apparently that sport is a pretty popular here on the Cape. I've never seen so many putt-putt places concentrated in one location. We must have passed 3 or 4 different courses before we found the one we were looking for,Pirates Cove Adventure Golf (www.piratescove.net). If you think you might want to take your family, look for their coupons in the Cape Cod Coupons book found in travel centers. After the discount, we spent $31.75 for our family of five.

Pirates Cove has fantastic pirate theming going on. There is a giant pirate ship, waterfall and caves that you putt around. It reminded me a little of Disneyworld's Pirate ride, only you're walking, not riding of course. My son melted my heart when he said, "I love this place, thank's for bringing me here." We weren't really keeping score, and the casual observer probably thought my children were playing hockey instead of golf, but we had a lot of fun.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb