Weekend in Boston


Advertisement
Published: May 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post


On the road to Boston - coffee and GPS required!
Hi all!

So, I woke up in a very bad mood on Saturday morning - not helped by the fact it was grey and raining! I was cheered up, however, when Barbara and Steve offered me a bagel - it was a chocolate marble one from a local bagel store, and it was totally amazing. My faith was restored and I set off for the long drive to Boston. I got to Alewife subway station, and parked up and took the train to Park St., Boston. There, it was raining too, but undeterred, I started to walk the Freedom Trail. There's an app for the iPhone for it. Basically, it's this red line on the pavements that you follow and it takes you around all the historic sites in Boston - the app tells you more about what you're looking at. Pics attached!

After completing this, I took the subway back to my car and drove to my hotel for the night. Today, after breakfast, I got back on the subway and went shopping in Boston. I was in awe at Quincy Market - OMG! Food galore!!!!! I bought my first corn dog (not highly recommended) and after a

Boston subway is a LOT easier to navigate than the NYC one!
coffee, decided to drive back to my place in Great Barrington. The distance between Boston and Great Barrington is about 3 hours drive!

I enjoyed the Plazzas on the interstates (the US version of motorway services) very much too! (I know, it's sad...)

So, on reflection, Boston is nice, for the mix of old and new - both given as much respect as each other. I don't know if it was the lack of sunshine (which made an appearance the moment I left), but I found it a little 'flat', however. Wouldn't necessarily go back again, though I'd be keen to explore the nightlife and culture - I get the impression there's great ballet and theatre.

Anyhow, relaxing for the rest of the evening, and perhaps a little reading for work this week - I'll be working with a patient one-on-one this week in order to practice devising psychodynamic formulations.



Hope all's good back home, and a special mention to Matty, Angie and Payney, who are clearly having a lovely time in Spain (judging by their phone call this evening, I'd say they're all in a happy place!)

Jonny

xxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



The Boston Freedom Trail


Where my subway dropped me off in the centre of Boston - also the start of the Boston Freedom Trail



A makeshift memorial to the Boson Bombings last month.



Bunker Hill Monument


This bit reminded me of Bristol!



Quincy Market


Subway back to Alewife, to pick up my car and come back to Great Barrington - Bye bye Boston x


13th May 2013

Blog response
Hi Jon
13th May 2013

Boston weekend
Hi Jon, Sorry you found Boston a bit flat and that you woke up in a bad mood. Its probably all that self analysis! Take my advice, stick to the donuts! Lots of love, Mum

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb