Boston and New England


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
June 26th 2010
Published: June 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Boston is the place to be if you are visiting New England! It is also held very high in respect by everybody at camp, so I knew I had to visit! Jerome and I arrived Wednesday night and have been staying with Michael and Jennifer, a very nice couple who live in Watertown.

On Thursday, I slept very late and got up to finally start some laundry. It had been more than two weeks and I was completely out of clean clothes! After that was done, I went into Boston and walked the 3-plus mile Freedom Trail. The Freedom Trail starts at Boston Common and ends at the Bunker Hill Monument in Charlestown. Along the way, there are many historic sites and buildings, such as the Park Street Church, Old South Meeting House, the Old North Church, and the U.S.S. Constitution in the Charlestown Navy Yard. I saw a very old graveyard where Samuel Adams, John Hancock, Paul Revere, and victims of the Boston Massacre were buried. In another graveyard, I saw the tomb of John Winthrop. I took a tour of the U.S.S. Constitution, which was commissioned in 1797 and is still "active". This ship is nicknamed "Old Ironsides" for a famous battle in the War of 1812.

There is just too much history on the Freedom Trail that I experienced to enumerate. On Friday, I slept late once again and then headed up to Salem to see the witch museum and whatnot. I saw the museum and the memorial to the 20 innocent people who were hanged as witches in 1692. I then headed back to Boston to the Red Sox game! They won 10-6. Red Sox fans are very loyal- there was a full cheering crowd at the stadium. It was fun to be there and to be at a park that was built in 1912.

On Saturday, I headed in my car to Providence, RI. I just wanted to go there to say that I’ve been in Rhode Island. While there, I ate breakfast and then walked around to see the Roger Williams memorial and the capitol building. From Providence, I took the long journey to Cape Cod. I first stopped at Marconi Beach, the place of the first trans-Atlantic signal. The beach was very white and the water clear and cold. It was very beautiful. I then drove up the rest of the Cape and stopped at another beach and then had dinner. It was a very eventful day, with a lot of driving and beautiful scenery.



Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb