Sayonara Beantown


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
July 30th 2006
Published: March 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

RepresentRepresentRepresent

boston boy
It is strange to say but this will most likely be my last entry from Boston. The year has come to a close and I am ready to move on.

In all, it has been around a 9-month waiting process since I applied to the JET Program back in November. However, it was well worth the wait and my excitement to return to Japan hasn’t wavered since the first day I filled in the application. In a matter of 8 days I will be heading off to Japan, and after a week of speeches and training in Tokyo, I will be making my way to my new home, a small island of 120 people in the Japanese Inland Sea.

My bag is packed, or bags I am ashamed to say, and now I am busy wandering the streets and parks of Boston picking up gifts, taking pictures and saying my goodbyes. I know I will miss this city and all of my friends and family. But at the same time I know this is the best thing for me to do and, besides friends/family, there is not much reason for me to stay.

It is funny but I
Old and NewOld and NewOld and New

and to think the old state house used to be considered a big building
feel as if America’s outsourcing trend has stepped up to a new level. Over the last couple of years many of America’s educated youth are choosing to go abroad in search of better jobs and experiences. Why should I sweat it out here in a horrible entry-level job when I can head to Japan, Taiwan, Korea, or many other countries and make a decent living, while also experiencing a new country and culture? At times it is trying living in a country different from your own. However, you can never say that a day does not pass where you learn something new or see something you have never seen before.

I know that one day I will definitely return but as of now that day is far off in the future. The world is once again calling my name and I can’t wait to experience everything that comes my way and give back in anyway possible.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Frogs PondFrogs Pond
Frogs Pond

Frolicking with Frogs
Gathering a CrowdGathering a Crowd
Gathering a Crowd

and killing it
Davis SquareDavis Square
Davis Square

my old stomping grounds
Summer BBQSummer BBQ
Summer BBQ

stocking up on the steak intake before Japan
Boston CommonsBoston Commons
Boston Commons

sunday morning stroll
Harvard SquareHarvard Square
Harvard Square

chess 24/7
Pumpkin PatchPumpkin Patch
Pumpkin Patch

Halloween is in the air
Copley SquareCopley Square
Copley Square

reflections
Boston CommonsBoston Commons
Boston Commons

Quack Quack Quack


Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb