Last Days at Penn State


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
December 19th 2007
Published: December 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I write this from a Greyhound (promise me you will never catch a Greyhound bus EVER) bus en-route from New York City to Boston. This is my fourth transfer, along with the customary Greyhound frustrating delay on a 14 hour trip which could have taken 8.

I started and finished my exams yesterday (Monday) with two finals. Both were pretty easy so I should do ok. I finished my second at 4:30pm and went straight back to my dorm and started packing up. In that time I also managed to organise a farewell dinner at an Indian restaurant downtown to say goodbye to everyone. It's very strange saying goodbye to some people for probably the last time ever. I don't have a standard for that. After the dinner a few of us went to an apartment of some friends who couldn't make the dinner to say goodbye. After that Hazel and I went back to my dorm to pack up the rest of my stuff. We were up until 2:30am and then back up at 7am because I had so much to do in so little time. (Thanks Hazel!)

This morning I had my last ever meal plan breakfast
Ice HockeyIce HockeyIce Hockey

We won.
(I honestly can't say that I'll miss them), and took my last walk through State College to the bus terminal with Hazel and wayyy too much luggage (travel light people). It was very sad saying goodbye to Penn State. It's gone so fast and been so much fun. I still can't believe it' s over. I left at 11am on Tuesday the 18th of December.

I now have nine full days left in the USA. I'll spend four of those in Boston, and then four in Manhattan, and one day with some friends in New York City (outside Manhattan) before flying JFK to London on the 28th of December. I couldn't get a flight just after New Years, so I'll be spending it in London instead of New York, which isn't so bad. At least I'll be able to have a few drinks.

In London, I'm staying at Hazel's house for a few days, before I move in to residence at University College London on January the 2nd. I got offered my flat a few days ago. It's in Camden Town, across the road from Euston Station and next to Regent's Park. I share a flat with five people, we each have our own bedroom, we share a kitchen and one or two bathrooms. I'm looking forward both to having my own room and being able to cook my own food. It's an excellent location, walking distance to everything in London. I'm paying for it though: 111 pounds/week. I'll definitely have to get a job, which shouldn't be a problem with my UK citizenship and four million restaurants within minutes of my doorstep. Also, incidentally, I get about that much per week from Kevin Rudd, so that will help.

I can't believe it's only a week until Christmas. I can't believe I won't be eating Peggy's famous turkey this year. (maybe you could freeze some for me? - it's only eight months!) Also I'm 21 very soon, which won't make any difference in England, but would have come in very handy in the US.

I'm sad to leave Penn State but also very excited about London and Europe.

I hope you all have a great Christmas. I'll write again soon to tell you about Boston and NYC.

Love Renan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Rock-a-ThonRock-a-Thon
Rock-a-Thon

Charity event, yes I'm a philanthropist.
Kris KringleKris Kringle
Kris Kringle

We did the present swad/steal thing.
Austrian RestaurantAustrian Restaurant
Austrian Restaurant

for Xmas festivities
Snowball fightSnowball fight
Snowball fight

Australia vs. The Rest of the World
SnowmanSnowman
Snowman

The initial phase
Snowman IISnowman II
Snowman II

He was very big
Death of a SnowmanDeath of a Snowman
Death of a Snowman

The time for mourning


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb