Welcome


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
August 20th 2005
Published: August 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody! I just talked to a good friend from Denison and realized that I truly can't go back to Denison this year. (Took me a whole summer after I graduated to figure that out.) I must say that it is definitely a strange feeling and wakes me up to how life is going to be now that I'm done with school. As many of you know I will be traveling back to good ole Chapel Hill on Tuesday and then to China on Friday. I decided that this was (whether I like it or not) probably the best way for everyone to try and stay in touch with me. I'll do my best to keep posting messages but sometimes I'm not too good at it so please continue to send me e-mails. As for now I'm saying good-bye to friends in Boston and finishing up my Chinese class. I spent the summer traveling around visiting people across the United States and getting my TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certificate. Learning how to grow up and become an adult (who am I kidding, since when am I an adult). Anyways, just wanted to send a little hello out there.

By the way, for all those who are wondering "Are you excited?!?!" The answer is a little more complicated than you may think. I've traveled before and I remember feeling exactly the same way. Not excited, not nervous, not anything really. I feel like I'm going to work. Like it's something I do every day and it's not a big deal. That's the same way I felt before going to India for eight months too. It's not that I don't want to go, it's just that for whatever reason I think this is the way my body prepares itself for going into culture shock. Maybe, as my dad suggested, it's part of culture shock. Who knows. I'm just looking forward to the new experience and to finally having a class to teach myself. Whether or not they're spoiled (which is what I've heard happened from the One Child Policy).

If anyone has any suggestions for someone going to China please send them to me.

Advertisement



30th September 2005

end of school?
i predict that youll get a phd or two eventually. life in china should be both very interesting and exciting and possibly lonely. i find the chinese rather distant but not as bad as brahman(sp.?)class indians. china is on the verge of ruling the world so you might just want to plan to stay there if you can ever really feel accepted. i am (the 4 mas backwards)fascinated by china and will be following your letters as much as possible. i am a freind and great admirer of your mother, lynn.

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb