Boston Journal


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
February 21st 2007
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well seeing as I have begun preparing for my return to Japan this summer, I thought I would start up my journal again. In terms of preparation, I have sent my documents in to Keiko for review and hopefully will have my visa by the beginning of May at the latest. I also managed to find an awesome deal on airfare and got my ticket for $986 roundtrip with only 1 stop, which is awesome. If I were going for a shorter time I could have gotten it cheaper, but if you're staying in a country for more than 6 weeks the price goes up (T_T) I will be flying into Nagoya again, arriving on Friday evening. I have already made plans with Charlene for that weekend. I emailed her and told her that we had to hang out as soon as I got in! (^_^)
The thing is, she will be leaving the beginning of July for 6 weeks to go back to Australia, so I want to be able to hang out with her as much as possible, since I won't get to see her the last half of the summer. Boo (T_T) I'm also struggling (yet again) with housing issues. Last year when I lived in short-term housing the company was able to pre-pay and then just take it out of my paycheck, but this year for some reason they are unable to do this, so I have to come up with between $2,500-3,000 in the next couple weeks, and I have no idea how I am going to be able to do this. However, I will be joined by a new friend on my trip to Japan this summer! A friend of mine from law school, Naho, will be working at the firm with me, which should be lots of fun! I'm excited because the range of work I will be doing this summer will be much broader than that which I did last year. Since I have taken a great deal of business and IP classes at school and have a bit more training in terms of how to file, advise clients, etc. I will be able to get a bit more hands on experience. Mike, my boss, also told me that he will be taking me to some IP conferences in Tokyo this year and help me to try and get established and do some networking. This summer is extremely important in terms of finding a job for summer '08, since that's when I will be graduating and needing to start work. Also looming ahead is the bar exam, which of course, I must pass if I want to work in the first place. That's why I am starting my studying this summer. The earlier I start preparing, the better!!! I am hoping to be able to find a job, though the fact that I am a foreigner, a woman, and overweight are three strikes against me. Not to mention the fact that I don't have stellar grades and don't go to a top name law school. Agh 😞 Oh well, doesn't do to focus on the negatives, right? I have to have confidence and focus on the positive!!! Back here in Boston things are going well. Just working and studying at school. (I got a job as a desk assistant in the library) Over president's day, my friend Kayla came in from NY. It was really fun but too cold to really do any sightseeing or be outside for great periods of time. We did do a bit though, and the most fun part by far was going to the aquarium. It was packed when we went because of this huge penguin exhibit they were having, but the penguins really were adorable. My favorite were the fur seals, they looked just like dogs with fins! So cute!! So I have just posted some fin pics I took at the aquarium, as well as some other pics from around here so you can kind of see what I've been up to since August. Anyway, I'll be updating again soon!! till then!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

me and Naho me and Naho
me and Naho

we just our manicures!
Girls Night out in NY!Girls Night out in NY!
Girls Night out in NY!

Karaoke with Kayla (middle) Ruthie (left) and Rebbecca (right)


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb