Adios Mexico, Hello USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Sparks
August 14th 2010
Published: August 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, August 14, 2010

Well I'm back in the States safe and sound. The Fulbright Program in Mexico was intense and something I'll always treasure as a great opportunity. I now have a better appreciation for fresh clean water, food that I can buy without chemically treating it to kill bacteria, a good-paying job with benefits, the luxury of time to do with as I want, good health (and healthcare), and any number of other things.
There's nothing like visiting a part of the world like Mexico and seeing firsthand how people are struggling to meet their most basic needs. 12 and 14 hour work days are common/6 days a week. The daily wage at Walmart is $5. That's for ONE day. Some things may be cheaper in Mexico, but they're not that cheap.
But Mexico is also rich in history, art, music, and tradition. Its people work hard and they cherish their families. Its landscape is diverse.
In the months ahead, all of the teachers that went on this trip will share their experiences with fellow teachers and administrators. I hope we can do it justice.
These photos show the faces of Mexico.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



14th August 2010

Paul. I've enjoyed you sharing your travel adventures. Glad you re heading back home. Have a safe trip. See you in a couple weeks at school. Beth White
15th August 2010

Welcome home, Pablo
Paul: I loved your blog. Glad to have you back, but sad to see my vicarious vacation come to an end. Bienvenidos!
17th August 2010

Welcome back, amigo.
Paul, I enjoyed the commentary on your travels immensely. With the accompanying pictures I almost felt I was there with you. I think you brought out the essence of each place. I'm sure you're glad to be home, and we hope to see you soon.

Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.3113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb