24hrs of hell


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
June 26th 2006
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Thats a little exaggerated, It wasn't that bad! infact it was alot of fun aside from the growth that is now cultivating on my right leg. I'm not sure that river is totally safe to wade in.

Camp is about to get underway and all the kids are due in a couple of days. The Camp is pretty flash, If you guys just think of all the Movies that have a summer camp in it then your far on your way to knowing what this place is like. Although it says camp, the cabins 5 star bungelos are very impressive and i probably wouldn't call this camping.

Before the kids start streaming in the Leaders decided to give us( the councellors) some team bonding exercises. So they sent us out on canoes (i choose this really pretty pink one - bad mistake) onto the river and told us pretty much that we'd be spending all day and all night paddling and camping out under a tarpolen. I jumped for joy as you can well imagine - i mean honestly.....who can survive without electricity? where am i meant to plug in my hair straightener?

As good as the Pink boat looked, and as good as it looked with me and Zhang in it - the water leak in the boat looked worse and worse the whole day! the paddle was actually quite easy and the leak while seeming really dramatic when we started paddling evetuated to nothing except a wet toosh! the scenery was outstanding, so beautiful and stunning, if i could compare it to something it would be comparable to.........me! wait for the photos!......of the scenery that is! you all should have enough photos of me in your individual shrines you have up of me.

What a great purchase my katmandu sleeping bag was, so snug and comfy. I felt sorry for some of the others. The night wasn't too bad i got my usual 3hrs interrupted sleep so i was my usual chirpy self in the morning. The weather here is alot like auckland, overcast most of the time, but atleast it didn't rain on us. Had some sort of prridge gup for breakfast, i used it to patch up our leaky boat and it seemed to work well - i think the porridge my have had the same sealing effect on some of the other councellors - poor kids!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb