I am home.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
July 19th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I am now home.
On Monday we went to New Bosaga school. I gave them a soccer ball. I loved it. It a fairly small school. Very poor. Its in old Kampala. We were touring the schools and I was talking with the children. I was bent over speaking with them, and when I stood back up, I heard a crack and a pop in my ankle. Unfortunately, it was raining in the morning so I choose not to were my air cast. I looked at Mary and told her “I think I have a problem”, I took another step and I heard another crack. It didn't hurt. So we got in the vehicle to leave. In the next hour or so, my leg swelled up to twice the size it was suppose to be. It still didn't hurt a whole lot just a little pressure from the swelling. But hours later getting back home it had stiffened up and that is when I felt the pain. An pain it was. Betty and Alex and premed Mary, wrapped my foot up tight and put the air cast back on. I elevated as much as possible. I took some vicadine. I
Good-bye dinnerGood-bye dinnerGood-bye dinner

l-r Me, Clif, Christine{high school admin.}, Mr. Armstrong{Highschool principle.}, Aunt Elizabeth{primary headmistress}
didn't have much left because I left the bulk of my supply at the clinic at Kamzinda. The next day we went to the American embassy to see about the choir coming to the US and what we needed for paper work. Lots of Ugandans work there it was eye opening. But when I went home to rest while Mary was brought to the airport, the pain was from my foot to the upper thigh. So I called the airport and asked if there was any way I could move my flight up from Friday because of a medical condition. They asked if I had seen a doctor. My response was, I am in a third world country, no I haven't seen a doctor, and even if I had, there is nothing they can do for me here. I have visited two different hospitals, and I wasn't going to one.
Betty's brother was in a car accident and they amputated his leg, instead of setting it or doing re constructive surgery. I wasn't about to go, unless I was physically dying or bleeding to death.

So needless to say, they moved my flight up and I left Wednesday morning and arrived in Boston on Wednesday night. The time zones made it possible to land the same day. Of course my trans Atlantic flight was interesting. A one yr old baby started seizure and became unconscious. I yelled for an attendant, and started praying, He seemed to be all right and two doctors who were on the flight, were attending to him. They advised to get medical attention as soon as arriving in Boston.

Anyways. Praise God, I am home. I see the doctor in a few days and am scheduled for surgery already so I will be fixed soon. I brought some beautiful bead work the the orphans have done that is for sale. I am sending the proceeds back for their flight tickets to America. If anyone is interested let me know. Glad to be back. I miss Africa and my African family, but will see them soon. God willing.- God bless- Kim
PS. We are having a welcome back/Isaiah's birthday party on July 26, at the house. I will be doing a slide show/presentation of my trip. The party date was moved from the 2of August because of the surgery. Let us know if you need
Mpologoma{lion, in Lugandan}Mpologoma{lion, in Lugandan}Mpologoma{lion, in Lugandan}

My African sister, Betty
directions or are planning on coming.-Kim.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

RogersRogers
Rogers

My African brother
Joan, my personal African princessJoan, my personal African princess
Joan, my personal African princess

This girl's arm is burnt, she fell in the fire when she was a baby. My first week there we were walking together and I was praying for her, and the Holy Spirit showed up in a really powerful way. I fell in love.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb