The Way Weddings Should Be Done


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
October 5th 2007
Published: December 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The CeremonyThe CeremonyThe Ceremony

Note the Two Floating Candles on the Lake leaving the family of candles between the docks to go and start a life on their own!
It has been a long time since there has been a marriage in the immediate family. My cousin Tobias exchanged his vows with Crystal on the weekend of October 5th and it was beautiful. The ceremony was held out in Readfield on Maranacook Lake right at Tobias' parents house.The weather was cool with a slight drizzle that during the reception turned into a steady rain (which according to some superstitions, is a sign of fertility in a marriage). The company, the food; the dancing were all so very wonderful. During the reception I learned a new wedding custom. Traditionally the wedding cake is constructed by the guests who all bring a cake and stack them together to make one big cake. After the ceremony the couple attempts to kiss over the cake, if they succeed and prosperous life together will be assured, if not, well...at least there is a lot of cake to eat. Luckily following tradition and with their amazing kissing skills, Tobias and Crystal kissed with out a hitch over the cake. I tried to take some good pictures, but my little digital point and shoot camera just didn't seem to be up to the task! I've posted the good
CheersCheersCheers

Me and my arch-nemesis, I mean Best Friend, Ron Durgin.
ones and for some better ones you should visit Todd Dionne photography for better shots of the wedding (there are some pictures of dancing toward the end after the gorgeous wedding shots). Once more congratulations to Tobias and Crystal on their new life together!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Duking it out!Duking it out!
Duking it out!

YEEE-HAAAW! Montanan vs. Mainer
Stick 'Em UpStick 'Em Up
Stick 'Em Up

Me Robbing the Shorty Boys!
Tom Taft and MyselfTom Taft and Myself
Tom Taft and Myself

I managed to visit with my friend Tom for about an hour during my stay in Maine and was glad I could get this picture of us.
Meme and Pepe and IMeme and Pepe and I
Meme and Pepe and I

Glady and Luke (Chatigny) Shorty, with me Luke Shorty
Maine Fall FoliageMaine Fall Foliage
Maine Fall Foliage

The trees in color by my house in Fairfield.
R.I.P. Bob TupperR.I.P. Bob Tupper
R.I.P. Bob Tupper

This man was amazing. He gave me my first job ever, haying his fields!
Javin and MattJavin and Matt
Javin and Matt

I worked in the woods with Javin. That may can sling a chainsaw like no other. It's cool that my brother and him are living on the same floor at Eastern Maine Community College!
Matt's Classroom ProjectMatt's Classroom Project
Matt's Classroom Project

Matt was the only student who decided to take the challenge and work on this old huge army bulldozer. He got it running!
Diabete's Anyone?Diabete's Anyone?
Diabete's Anyone?

There is a restaurant in Maine called "Governors" that has a desert called the "Federal Deficit". It's all their deserts in one dish if you eat it in one sitting by yourself you get the desert for free and diabetes.
Toto we aren't in Kansas anymoreToto we aren't in Kansas anymore
Toto we aren't in Kansas anymore

This is one of the mini-golf courses my Aunt Janet and Uncle Richard put in their backyard. Notice the wicked witches shoes underneath the railroad ties!
Jeremy and his girlfriendJeremy and his girlfriend
Jeremy and his girlfriend

In the backyard with the mini-golf by the reception tent!
Ceremonies Center Stage!Ceremonies Center Stage!
Ceremonies Center Stage!

On Maranacook Lake with floating candles on the front yard.


17th December 2007

feet
who they hey are the three feet?
17th December 2007

feet
Zak, Me, and Matt of course! Those are Shorty feet!

Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 96; dbt: 0.0893s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb