Out of Baxter Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Millinocket
June 19th 2013
Published: July 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I hear Phil stopped by at 7:30 to congratulate me but I was still sleeping. I did not get out of my bag until 10:30. I had the keen-to for 2 nights so I had it in my head I could take a day in the park to revive and refresh. As I took a moment and considered this option I could feel the hard work of the day before. I had hiked to the point of muscle failure and now I fell stiff. I have been down this road a time or two and I know that the next 3 days will suck to be me. Knowing that my only hope is to keep moving. Moving and Aleve! By 11:00 I start South Bound on the Appalachian Trail or on the trail known as a SoBo (south bounder).

My goal is to make it to Hurd Brook Lean-to 13.4 miles. A lofty goal especially with such a late start. As I load my 30 pounds of gear and food on my back I set out. The map looks to be flat, and Abol Bridge is the official beginning of the 100 mile wilderness since that is the last opportunity
Cold StreamCold StreamCold Stream

Good for drinking and soaking sore hikers.
to purchase provisions for the next 100 miles is only 11 miles, so back up plan is to stay there, after all elevation change of 400 feet all down hill.

I think of flat as a road, and if hiking a flat trail, a flat well traveled trail I should make good time. The first 200 yards was perfect, then it all turned into mud, or mud covered roots, or mud covered rocks, but mostly mud covered roots and rocks. It takes balance, focus, and quality hiking poles to successfully negotiate this obstacle course and keep your boots dry... well ok to keep the mud from overflowing the top of the boot. Unfortunately I lack 2 of the three required... Black Diamond makes a great set of hiking poles. I do well until I come to my first stream to forge... High, fast, cold water... I consider attempting until I see it is one of 2 forks in this stream so I take a .9 mile high water detour. Awesome, I come across the sign nor NoBo warning of the high-water. Still on track, boots dry, feet sore, body trashed and exhausted. By 4:00 PM I am done I want to go home, I am still not hungry but graze on beef sticks, nuts, and pop tarts. I come to a small stream to cross and hop rock to rock, balance along a log... awesome made it only to look up and see another stream with no rocks to hop... So I start and end up nut deep is this mud puddle before I reach the other side. All that work and extra milage... Ugg!

Did I mention all the mud, and how mosquitoes seem to like mud. Growing up in Minnesota mud and mosquitoes were part of my childhood. Garlic pills, skin-so-soft, and deet are all that is required and I well prepared. Other hikers are not so lucky and either have 100% of skin covered in clothing to include a head net, or they use verbal and physical intimidation tactics.

I am sore, wet, tired, muddy, and I'm running out of day light. So when I get to a foot bridge over a stream and see a nice flat bed of pine needles I abandon my goal and make camp. The water in the stream is cold making it excellent for drinking, and also excellent for soaking a sore dirty hiker. I am home for the night. I pitch my tent, make noodles, fill my water bottles, rinse my boots and socks, and soak my sore body until I am so cold I cannot feel my feet. I am in my bag by 9:00 whenI hear the sound of a truck. I must be close to Abol Bridge. I have not seen one other person today. Wilderness is awesome.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb