Last day at Acadia


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Bar Harbor
July 2nd 2008
Published: September 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We made a quick stop at the garden located on scenic loop, said hi to the frogs,and then headed over to Beehive trail. To get to the trailhead we had to go to Sand Beach and walk to the other side of the beach. There were a lot more people than the first day we came but the fog condition was slightly the same.

Beehive trail is considered difficult trail because of the steepness and cliff you have to climb on. We walked passed the entrance to the trail so we had to walk back a bit. From the point approaching the trailhead, there was a group of hikers chitchatting and pointing up the mountains to hikers who were climbing up on the cliff. They were literally on the cliff.

It didn't take long from the trailhead to start ascending. We just climbed and held on to the rocks and about 1/4 through the trail, iron rungs were primary tools for us to hold on to while our backs facing the cliff. There were a few spots that got me pretty nervous. It can be quite slippery sometimes stepping on the iron rungs so I took my time to
Water SpringWater SpringWater Spring

doesn't look like an active one.
make sure I had a good grip on them. Even though I was a bit shaky at some spots, I didn't whine because the middle age lady in the group before us made it just fine. That would be so embarrassing for me if I couldn't do the same.

It was a unique experience to hike this way. My other experience close to this one was hiking along the edge of the cliff at the Yosemite. There was no handrail or anything to hold on to and that part of the trail was graveled.

The views after we got to the summit was gorgeous. Heavy fog covering the entire area giving an exotic feel to the hike. I like this kind of weather. I guess that's why I disagree with people who don't like Seattle weather. The trail took us through flat area along the coast where vegetation changed from tall trees to bushes and small plants. As we walked quietly taking in the peacefulness and cool weather, Doug suddenly stopped me. He whispered "a porcupine". "Where?" I said. We kept our noise as low as possible and used hand gesture in addition as a way to communicate. A few minutes later, there s/he was walking slowwwwwwwly through bushes. It was cute and adorable. Doug doesn't think so much of it the way I do. We observed the porcupine for a while until it walked the opposite direction to another bush and we couldn't see it any more. That was awesome!


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

-1-1
-1

we're now on the mountain looking back down to the beach where we passed to get to the trail head.
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Doug telling me to get a hell out of this area for fear that I would fall down while taking pictures.
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

views down below


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb