ON THE AMERICAN QUEEN AND OAK ALLEY PLANTATION


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » Vacherie
February 25th 2013
Published: February 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We docked right near the entrance to Oak Alley plantation, a short walk and I was at the plantation “Big House”, originally built in 1820 and since 1972 owned and maintained by the Oak Alley Foundation. I went through the house with an exceptionally good tour guide dressed in period costume. After the tour I went to the other areas of the plantation, including the café, where I had a mint julep (at 10:30 am, but it was five o’clock somewhere) and wandered back to the ship. We were steam boating at 1:00 pm. The Mississippi water is clear. You can see bottom in some places up to a depth of maybe two inches. Seriously, real muddy but not so much that you can walk on it. I saw considerable barge and commercial traffic, but not any recreational vessels.

Later in the afternoon the Captain’s Welcome Aboard Champagne Reception was attended by almost all aboard. As a late diner, I went to the first show, and what a show it was. Lynn Roberts, one of the last still performing big band singers was outstanding in her show with the great Artie Shaw orchestra. She gave many anecdotes about her career with several big bands. She started at age 15 and all were shocked to hear her say she is now 78! Exceptional voice and energy and still performs at several venues throughout the year. If you get a chance to hear her sing with a big band, do it.

Dinner service was much better, our table was done in less than two hours and everyone at my table was pleased with their meals. Wine service is included and they are very generous with refills. After dinner I headed to the Engine Room Bar and enjoyed the entertainment there. I was talking with a lady next to me who was very knowledgeable about the American Queen and Lynn Roberts. Approaching midnight, I excused myself for the mens’ room. When I came back, another lady had joined Charlene (we had a thing going with Chuck (the bartender), Chuck the guest, and Charlene, whose father was Charles, but the newcomer had her back to me, but the few people left in the bar enjoyed the final song of the night. I was preparing to go to my room but stopped to say goodnight to Charlene and the other lady who introduced herself
AMERICAN QUEENAMERICAN QUEENAMERICAN QUEEN

DOCKED AT THE LEVEE
as Lynn Roberts. She looked young enough to be my daughter, well maybe that’s a little exaggeration, but not much.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

STEAMBOATIN'STEAMBOATIN'
STEAMBOATIN'

THE PADDLE WHEEL


25th February 2013

Great way to see some of our country's history. Enjoy the mighty Mississippi!!!!!!!
26th February 2013

Bad headline
"OAK VALLEY PLANTATION"? As stated in the article, we are Oak Alley Plantation. Please correct !!!!
26th February 2013

Bad headline
"OAK VALLEY PLANTATION"? As stated in the article, we are Oak Alley Plantation. Please correct !!!!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb