Why oh Wye


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » DeRidder
February 14th 2011
Published: February 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy VD! Since the weather was nice last night and we might need the bike shop in the afternoon it was decided we would start early today. We were on the road by 7:10. By 10:00 the temp had warmed up enough I was riding w/o a coat. The temp got up to 70' today. I called home and my wife said the temp there was a balmy 46'. We stayed on the same road all day until we got to DeRidder so I didn't see much of the gang. I saw a pocket knife on the road and stopped and picked it up. It turns out it was a Case knife, real nice. Bob was trying to say since he saw it earlier in the day it was his. The wind was at our backs today which was nice. I caught up with everyone and they were on the side of the road looking at Bob's back tire. They didn't need another opinion or extra fingers in the pie so I continued down the road. The last half of the day had some minor hills which seamed taller than they were since we have been riding on flat ground. I had passed the first of three campgrounds and stopped to look at the map when Sam was coming up from behind. As it turns out Bob added air to his tire and they were ready to ride but Mary had a flat. Bob was going to repair it. To do this you remove the tube and find the hole. The area is then scuffed around the hole, to allow the cement to stick better. The cement is applied and you wait. This allows the cement to "tack off" before the patch is applied. Bob was in a hurry and didn't wait long at a all. When everything was re assembled and aired up the tire would not keep its pressure. In his haste to patch the tube he failed to find the second hole in the tube. The process begins again. When this hole is patched and everything is reassembled Bob tries again. You can guess what happened next, the first patch failed because the glue wasn't tacky before he applied the patch. Bob in his frustration tries this a third time and this time he replaces the tube. When they catch up with us his back tire is low and he has to air it up again. By now Bob is hoping to have enough air to get to the motel. When Bob was calling to make reservatations for the motels tonight he discovered most of them were completely booked. The only one which had any rooms was pricey. Since I'm a tight wad I opted to camp for the night. Bob & Mary took off to their motel while Sam & I picthed our tents. As we were turning into the parking lot for the campground I hit the enterance at an angle and literally laid my bike on its side. Once I stopped my feet were still attached to the peddles. Nothing hurt but my pride. I had to pull a lardge piece of sod from my spokes but was able to keep going. The day is nice, I'm setting on a pinic bench doing my blog and the wind is blowing softly from the south. We rode a total of 36 miles and climbed as measly 660 feet. We should be in Texas tomorrow. After supper the wind died down and the mosquitos came out. We cleaned up quick and climbed into the protection of our tents.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb