Louisville


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Louisville
June 11th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Skylift viewSkylift viewSkylift view

Up at the top of the skylift looking back down
I was in Louisville, Kentucky a little while ago for business and had an amazing time! Before the business part of the trip I got to stay in the Cabins of Birch Hollow in Spade, KY for a night. Holy cow those cabins are amazing! If you and your family happen to be out that way, I recommend staying there. Multiple bedrooms and bathrooms.

We took a sky lift up to the top of the gorge to see the Natural Bridge. It was exactly like a ski lift but much steeper. Good thing I'm not afraid of heights!

The next day I got to see how Woodford Reserve bourbon is made. Very interesting and long, long process. After the tour of the distillery, I went to where the Kentucky Derby is held: Churchill Downs. It was fun to watch the horses race but during one race, I think one horse tripped over another because he went down and his jockey quickly got out of the way. It was scary! I also tried a "Lily" which is a version of a "Cape Codder" but with grenadine. It was a very sweet drink. I only won $5 all day which was
Woodford ReserveWoodford ReserveWoodford Reserve

Inside the bourbon distillery
not very good I must say!

While I was in Louisville I got to go to the Louisville Sluggers factory and I saw so many famous MLB players' bats and how they were made. They are made on a lathe and the machine can make 24 different bats from memory. Pretty impressive! There was also a little "museum" part of the factory where there was all kinds of information on MLB players and their bats.

There was a local Mexican restaurant El Mundo that I went to. They have amazing margaritas! I tried their Pomegranate Margarita. Delicious! Their food is very authentic and fresh.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Churchill DownsChurchill Downs
Churchill Downs

Where the Kentucky Derby is held, as well as many other races
Babe Ruth's batBabe Ruth's bat
Babe Ruth's bat

He would carve a "notch" into his bat whenever he hit a home run with his Louisville Slugger. This one had something like 25 notches.
More batsMore bats
More bats

Here are many MLB players bats


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb