Preparation for Italy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Frankfort
January 2nd 2018
Published: January 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

I have had a to-do list written since last Tuesday. Everyone at my family gatherings for the holidays continued asking; "Are you excited for your trip? Are you ready?". My answer was; "I am not allowing myself to think about Italy until after Christmas". Mainly because of the amount of stress and hustle-and-bustle the holiday season brings, especially because of finals week ending and the readjustment to moving back home for the break. I also have began the process of applying for dietetic internships, which involved studying for and taking the GRE. Thus, I began my preparation Tuesday, the day after Christmas, when I felt like I had time to fully commit myself. So I began by writing a to-do list. We are two days away from leaving and I have marked off about half of those "to-dos". These "to-dos" include; transferring all my photos to my computer so I have more storage (done), contacting Sprint regarding my phone plan (done), download netflix episodes and music (not done), uhhhh pack (not done), go to the store (not done), and download apps (not done). Yet, I did have time to complete a 1,000 piece puzzle I received for Christmas. But it was of Portofino, Italy, so it was still related and felt productive.

To prepare for this trip, my initial concern was what to pack. I have researched various blogs, trying to find the best packing lists, including what not to wear and the best walking shoes. I have struggled with finding the best shoes, especially with how much the weather has been changing in Florence. I have researched travel shoes and asked many people for advice. Once I got an idea of what I wanted to bring and what I needed to bring, I felt comfortable with my packing task, though my clothes are all still in piles and not actually in the suitcase. Let's hope and pray it all fits and is under the 50 pound weight limit.

Next, I thought of what I needed to buy for this trip. I knew I needed a map, maybe a travel book, and definitely an adapter. I received a travel book for Christmas that I have skimmed through (I'm telling myself I will read it on the dreaded plane ride), but I do not have a map or adapter yet. But tomorrow (cutting it close, yes) I am running my final errands for the trip, getting both the adapter and a map, along with necessary toiletries and accessories.

Once I have all of my things together, I will pack everything up in my suitcase (here's to hoping it all fits) and, at this moment, I know I will feel at ease and prepared. But right now I still feel like my head is in a fog and I am forgetting something extremely important. Which leads me to mental preparation - I am trying my best not to stress but it is in my bones. I am mainly stressed about flying. Not the physical aspect of being on a plane flying over the ocean; this does not bother me. I am more concerned about arriving at the airport on time and getting through baggage claim and security. Also, I am terrified my bags will be lost. But every time I express my concerns, my mother's response is; "You're with a group". Which honestly does settle most of my nerves, along with hers, but those concerns are still present.

I have also been drinking emergenC packets everyday, especially with the extreme cold and the sick people around me. I will not be sick before or during this trip. This is my only physical preparation I have done, as you can see by my steps listed below.

One thing I have not considered preparing for, and the only reason it has come to my attention is because people have asked, is learning Italian. I am not sure why this has not been a concern of mine, but one of the apps I plan on downloading is a translator. I am also heavily relying on our language course to introduce me to Italian.

In the past week (December 25 - December 31) I have only walked 17,745 steps. I am mentally and emotionally prepared to walk this many steps in one day, especially during our walking tour. I hope when you all read these numbers, you will consider the fact we are on break and I have been enjoying that break (on my couch with netflix).

Today (January 2) I spent about 2 hours eating. I didn't eat any snacks, and breakfast only involved myself and an orange.

So here's to completing my to-do list (tomorrow is the day!) and feeling prepared and ready for this new adventure of 2018! See ya Thursday!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb