Trip Four: Bardstown, KY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Bardstown
August 25th 2010
Published: October 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bardstown Kentucky! I love it here. The people are so nice and its beautiful. I flew into Louisville and had to drive 30 minutes to Bardstown. Bardstown is the Bourbon capital of the world. As you drive along it looks like the Napa wine country but instead it is all bourbon distilleries. On the way to my hotel I saw Jim Beam and a place called 4 roses. The drive was beautiful and there was a really pretty rock wall. I took a bunch of pictures of the drive and with every trip I seem to be obsessed with taking pictures of houses and the landscape since it looks so different. I stayed at the Hampton Inn. The staff was fantastic! We actually used a hotel conference room as our recruiting location so I was in that room or my room 24/7 practically. The staff at the hotel was so great, they had to make a million copies and faxes for us. When I left I sent them 2 boxes of See's candy to say thank you. The client at this site was The Reserve Network but the actual site was an AT&T call center. We were there strictly to do temporary recruitment. One of the days I had to drive back to Louisville and I ate at a great place called Ramsi's. It is a multicultural dinner location. I had the most amazing empenadas I have ever had and I sat at the bar with a local couple. They bought me my first bourbon, it was called Basil Hayden. Ever since I heard of it, I have LOVED the name. It sounds so cute and sexy. I didnt love the actual drink but I had a great time talking to this couple. The husband travels for work too and we had been to some of the same places. They were huge wine lovers so of course we talked about Napa/Sonoma and I gave them some suggestions of where to go the next time they came out to go tasting. While in Bardstown I also ate something that was so amazing it has become one of the top 5 foods I have ever had in my life. It was at a really cute place called Mammy's and it was their bourbon burger. They have this sweet bourbon sauce that they put on it with fried onions and it was AMAZING. I didnt eat it but Chris, my boss had another famous food to the area, it was called a Hot Brown and I am still not completely sure what it is but they have it everywhere. One of the days I needed to run to the store, when I went inside it was sunny outside with a couple gray clouds. I came out 5 minutes later and the entire sky was so dark gray and it was POURING like I have never ever seen in my life. I went in and ordered my food and about 5 minutes later it was still pouring. I finally said ok i cant wait here forever so I ran out to my car. HUGE MISTAKE. First off I ran out there and then realized I couldnt remember which one was my car since I switch rental cars every few days/weeks. Then I finally get in my car and I am so soaked that it looks like I jumped into water. It was raining so hard that I drove for 5 minutes in the wrong direction bc I couldnt see a single thing. When I got back to the hotel the whole neighborhood had no power. We had no power all night and let me just say this, my neighbors used their time wisely but sadly I had no music or tv to block out their sounds. Thats all Im going to say about that. Another great part of this site was that I got to work with Staff Mgmt contacts from the local Amazon site and the local Jabil site. Both were great. I ended up being in Bardstown for about 2 weeks and I was sad to leave.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1016s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb