More up and down!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Bardstown
June 4th 2018
Published: June 5th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This is the home Abe Lincoln’s dad grew up in.This is the home Abe Lincoln’s dad grew up in.This is the home Abe Lincoln’s dad grew up in.

Just North of Springfield Kentucky is where a Thomas Lincoln grew up.
Today was another fairly easy day rolliing through hills dotted with pastures and white fences.

The roads were very quiet and peaceful. The pleasant aroma of freshly mowed hay carried me all the way to Bardstown.

At about the 30 mile point, I arrived at the Historic home of Abe Lincoln’s dad, Thomas. The State of Kentucky restored his home and also the home of Abe’s mother Nancy Hanks. Both homes are probably less than 600 sq feet. ( Pictures included.)

After leaving the homestead, I used google maps to navigate me to Bardstown.

I must say I am losing faith in that option.

Rather than following the wide KY150 right into Bardstown, I followed the google bike route called Potters Road. The last six miles into Bardstown were radical ups and downs. At 15% and getting steeper I finally got off and pushed the bike to the top. Fortunately, the climb wasn’t long BUT this pattern continued several times.
I was really glad to finally get to Beardstown.

Apparently Google Bikes doesn’t care about the steepness of the roads as long as it takes quieter roads.

Once in Bardstown, I checked into the Stephen Foster Motel. ( Stephen Foster the poet is from Bardstown.)
The motel is ancient, but the owners are really keeping it in great shape, I am very impressed with how nice my room is.

Bardstown is the second oldest city in Kentucky. It was formally established as a Virginia city in 1784 before this territory became Kentucky,

Bardstown grew larger with the westward migration of Americans after the revolutionary war.

It was also the first center of Catholicism west of the Appalachian Mountains. I included a picture of the Basicilica of saint Joseph constructed in 1819.

Another highlight was the old Talbots Tavern, which was built in 1779 and hosted dozens of famed individuals from Daniel Boone to Abraham Lincoln.

The Tavern markets itself as the oldest Burbon Bar in the United States.

Enough History for today.

Tomorrow on to the west.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The road I was on most of the day.The road I was on most of the day.
The road I was on most of the day.

Not a lot of room but there were very few cars.
This was a beautiful rural road.This was a beautiful rural road.
This was a beautiful rural road.

I don’t think I saw a car for six miles.
A major highway in  Kentucky A major highway in  Kentucky
A major highway in Kentucky

Very wide shoulder. It felt extremely safe.
Talbots TavernTalbots Tavern
Talbots Tavern

Established 1774


6th June 2018

Beautiful
We're really enjoying the posts and pictures Bob. Glad to see the weather has improved for you too.
6th June 2018

Thanks Jim
It was a great day today. Appreciate your comments.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb