09 Using RAM mounts on my 2005 883 Harley Davidson Sportster, Effie


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Kansas City
January 1st 2007
Published: January 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Effies console May 2009Effies console May 2009Effies console May 2009

Adding the CB caused a big reorganization of the stuff on the bars. I also separated the Sirius Radio from the main GPS.
Yet another blog on how I installed something on my 2005 883L Sporty, Effie. Working in electronics for 30 years I have no fear at tearing into her wire harness to add another component. I will warn you that my electrical system has been modified so my bike supplies 32 amps of current instead of the stock 21 amps. If you double click on the pictures TravelBlog will take you to an area where these pictures are larger and you can view them in more of a slide show type display.

I get questions all the time about how to install a GPS or electronics on a motorcycle. This blog is how I installed my GPS and Satellite Radio using RAM mounts. I learned from experience as I didn’t know anyone that used RAM mounts when I started using them. This is how I did it, follow it, modify it or decide you don’t want anything like it, but here is how I did it, if you are interested continue. The RAM part numbers are included. I get my RAM mount stuff through GPSCity.com they offer it cheaper than anywhere else I have found, their website tells you what is
Simple GPS Mount for a motorcycleSimple GPS Mount for a motorcycleSimple GPS Mount for a motorcycle

This is a simple method to mount a GPS to a motorcycle. U-Bolt base, arm and diamond plate on the back of the GPS cradle.
in stock and delivery dates have always exceeded what they state. I am a happy customer.

RAM mounts come in 3 basic components. They attach to each other by pinching a ball with an arm (I think they used to call them sleeves). Lets discuss each component separately.

ARMS
There are a lot of choices to make on the arms.

They come in black plastic, black powder coated aluminum and chrome. The prices are in that order to. It was recommended to not use plastic if you had any weight to the thing you were mounting so I have always used the black aluminum arms.

The arms come in a 5 different ball sizes. I use the 1” ball size, it’s the most common size and has a lot of components to fit it.

The arms come in 3 lengths. The lengths socket to socket are 1.75”(short double socket), 2.875”(double socket) and 5.1875”(long double socket). The length of the arm you need will depend on your application.

The RAM part numbers I use for arms are RAM-B-201U-A (short double), RAM-B-201U (double) and RAM-B-201-C (long double). These are the black metal 1” ball arms.
RAM Mounts partsRAM Mounts partsRAM Mounts parts

Here are some extra parts I have laying around. Couple arms and diamond plates, plus one of the Frame mount components. The Arms are the Long Double Socket and a Double Socket.

MOTORCYCLE BASE MOUNTS
The arms attach to balls on each end. One ball needs to be attached to the bike. There are different ways to do this, I have used 2 types.

HANDLEBAR BASE MOUNTS
You can use a “U-bolt base”. Simple it’s just a U bolt around the handlebar that has a ball. The zink coated one is Part Number RAM-B-231ZU. Fits.75 to 1.25 inch handlebars. I mainly use these. The plain Stainless steel one is part number RAM-B-231U.

FRAME MOUNT
I have tucked a Frame mount ball under one of the bolts of the handlebar clamp or under a bolt of the headlight eyebrow. I found it was hard to tighten the bolt enough that the ball didn’t still spin. So I don’t really use these anymore. I probably could have added a couple lock washers or something, but didn’t look forward to tearing them all down again. They sell 2 different styles and I have tried both. One has a slight bend (RAM-B-272) and a flat one (RAM-B-252).

Are you seeing a trend? RAM components with 1” balls are RAM-B.

The last component is the thing that will go on your electronics cradle or container. RAM calls these PLATES for the most part.

PLATES

Most cradles or component housings have spacing for a Diamond Plate. Its kind of a universal standard. I use a lot of the diamond plate balls (RAM-B-238U).

So you install the u-bolt ball on the handlebar. Install a diamond plate ball or other appropriate plate on your accessory and connect the 2 with an arm.


Other RAM Applications
I have also used rectangular plates like RAM-B-202U-153 to mount clipboards I can attach maps to, or Pelican boxes that I can put cameras or such in.

I use a magnifying lens on the one GPS if its raining and visibility is a problem. Normally I don’t have to worry about rain hitting the GPS screen, unless I am getting passed by cars then their road spray will hit the screen. The magnifying lens will block that road spray and increase the size of the screen to compensate for the visibility issues caused by water on the helmet visor. Its part number is RAM-MAG-1U.

There are times when I mount my point and shot camera on the handlebars and take pics or videos. I
RAM MountsRAM MountsRAM Mounts

This the cradel from my car. It shows the three components. On this one the base is a RAM bendable anti-skid base. It works great on the little steep dash in my jeep.
usually don’t like to do this for long, because I am scared a bug will hit the lens and get bug guts all over there, gumming up the lens door that opens on its own. But the part number is RAM-B-202AU.

That kind of takes care of the RAM stuff. The pictures show you how I use the different components.

The first year I had the satellite radio mounted I just had it on its cradle in the open air. I carried a baggie that would be put over the radio when it rained. Kind of a pain, the bag would spring leaks, it wanted to blow off and water was sometimes forced in the open end of the bag. RAM makes waterproof boxes with a clear flexible film inserted in the lid. The film allows you to use the controls on the radio as long as they are push button, rotary knobs can not be turned. My radio is all push buttons. I believe it fits in the Aqua Box 3 (RAM-HOL-AQ3). This has worked really well, it just takes a couple minutes to get the front lens on and second to peel it off. I have
RAM Mounts ArmRAM Mounts ArmRAM Mounts Arm

Shows how the ARM pinches the other 2 componets.
used the same lens for over a year and it is holding up well, however it is becoming cloudy over time might be grime too, but replacements are under $4.

Usually I run without the lens on and just put it on if its forecasted to rain or has started to rain.

Other blogs showing installation of parts on Effie are:
08 Installing Floorboards on my 05 883 Harley Davidson Sportster, Effie.
08 Trunk installation on my 2005 883 Harley Davidson Sportster, Effie
08 Installing Police Saddlebags on my 05 883 Harley Sportster, Effie



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The Magnifing LensThe Magnifing Lens
The Magnifing Lens

This is the mag lens installed on the console. It helps with road spray when its raining and increases visibility when my visor has rain on it.
Dash with textDash with text
Dash with text

The Pelican box is used to keep my point and shoot camera dry when it rains. Again its just a RAM ball plate added to the bottom of the box.
Effies dash May 08Effies dash May 08
Effies dash May 08

This is what my dash looked like then. One of the benefits of using RAM mounts is you can change out stuff or move them around very easily. Sometimes I will add the drink holder, change out to the bigger pelican box... takes seconds to take something off or swap it with some thing else.
My Dash as of MAR 09My Dash as of MAR 09
My Dash as of MAR 09

I had a question on what some of the parts were so here is a more detailed picture. For a detail of the whole bike go to the DIY on mounting the saddlebags.
MAP LightsMAP Lights
MAP Lights

You can see the POD lights on the back of the mount.
My MAP boardMy MAP board
My MAP board

The beauty of the RAM system is that your imagination is the limit. I wanted something to hold my maps flat in front of me. All I had to do was trim down a $5 clipboard and add a diamond plate on the back.
Map Lights in ActionMap Lights in Action
Map Lights in Action

The back of the GPS mount made a great place to add a couple POD lights to use as MAP lights. This is my MAP board in action.


20th March 2009

Wowzaa!
At first I was like "WTF, why do that to a motorcycle!" However after valid reviews and comments from others, I can see why you added all the pleasure gear to your motorcycle. The 883 with a 4.5 gallon tank can probably keep up with some of the longer hauler touring bikes because of the 883's better gas usage. My question to you is what are the yellow, glow in the dark looking gauges on your gauges?
21st March 2009

RE: Wowzaa!
It just seemed like I would make one little change then the idea that I could do 'this' too, then pretty soon I am riding a bike that looks like a wasp. The little gauges that are velcroed on my speedo and tach are glow in the dark thermometer and analog clock from www.formotionproducts.com. The first thermometer leaked the oil out, a local dealer replaced it. After a couple years the clock battery went dead. I know use the 5 function digital display located over the speedo and tach for time and temp.
21st March 2009

Range
Forgot to respond about my range. You are right, I get about 50 MPG. That puts me at almost 200 miles before I hit reserve. I have two 4.5 gal tanks the blue/silver and the silver. I am trying to figure out how to mount the blue/silver on the back and use it as an auxilliary tank for endurance rallies. Gas stops kill your time in those.
23rd March 2010

???
if you can use it go for it but how can u hear the cb / sat radio i can not even hear the rap music in the car next me,, 2n 1 thunder header is very very loud, but it makes people mad they cant hear the crap rap on the getto hoopty they are running

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb